WWFT.

WWFT. You may be scratching your head, pondering whether you will ever be hip enough and up to date on computer lingo to read a new blog. Don’t fret, you’re not missing anything here. You’re in the same boat as every other reader in that you’re thinking, “What is WWFT? And what the hell type of blog is this?!”

WWFT. I will kill the suspense: What Would Freud Think. But we will get back to the importance of this at a later moment.

If I could cue the flashback movie waves via blog writing, I would right at this moment. Float back to 2001, when I was a mere junior in high school. Every year when making our school schedules, I would secretly fill with suspense and excitement to choose my elective classes. Chorus was a given. But the second choice was always an open ended question for me. I suppose that’s where the excitement came from.

In the summer of my sophomore year, when choosing my junior year electives, I made a life decision unknowingly. I chose my second elective course for my junior year to be Psychology. If only I had known the road I would be taken down for the following ten years, I would have asked my guidance counselor for a helmet and life preserver along with my class enrollment receipt.

After my first day of Psychology class, I remember coming home and eagerly skimming over the rest of the textbook. I would pause on the bold words to take it all in; I could not read enough, see enough, or learn enough when it came to Psychology. I began to dream of more in life. I decided to go to college. I had a dream of following my degree all the way through a PsyD to be a Doctor of Psychology.

I entered college with an open mind and an eager ambition. Shortly into college, I began working my first job within the mental health field to gain experience. I began working at a residential home for teenage girls who were “troubled”. I can undoubtedly say this job was one of the most stressful and eye-opening experiences in my work.

I quickly progressed in my career from teenagers to youth to supervisory work. In 2008, I accepted a job in Baltimore, Maryland at a coming-of-age program in mental health. The program focused on mental health in an outside-of-the-box thinking method and approach. One fond memory I have was seeing the clients of the program attend a red carpet awards event (hosted by the program). Clients were given awards and acknowledgments for different goals and advances they made in their quality of life. During my year in Baltimore, I saw more recovery than I have seen in the rest of my career, combined.

Baltimore was the climax of my career in mental health. I felt so filled with passion and drive in the field. Upon moving back to New England, those feelings slowly changed. I began to see a field that I once loved and once strived to heal people in, turn into a way for people to get hand-outs. Healing support groups turned into lying on state forms to get money and other benefits. Paranoid schizophrenic clients celebrating a week of showering daily to driving substance abuse diagnosis only clients to every place they should be responsible to get themselves to.

My passion died down to a mere flicker of the flame it once was. And my heart broke with my passion. I cannot count the nights I cried over my torn feelings from what I once saw in mental health, and the unfortunate modern day field of mental health.

Now back to the aforementioned WWFT, I can’t help but ask myself just that. What would Freud think? Don’t get me wrong, we all know Siggy was a crazy cokehead and his ethical values were more than questionable. But he was the Father of Psychology. I can’t help but sit around some nights and question to myself, what would he think? What would he think of the old world psychology when a diagnosis was merely a condition, not a way of life? What would he think of the modern day psychology, when you can have a bad week and suddenly claim to be disabled?

I don’t know what he would think. But I know what I think. And after an amazing ride over the past ten years, I am biding adieu to the mental health field. It’s a strange feeling to close such a large chapter of my short life. I truly believe that if your passion is gone and you’re in a field that deals with human quality of life, you need to be selfless and say goodbye.

6 responses to “WWFT.

  1. Pingback: Modern-Day Robin Leach: Childhood Wishes and Adult Dreams. | The Siren's Tale

  2. Pingback: Charging By The Hour. |

  3. Pingback: Where Do I Belong? | The Siren's Tale

  4. What Would Freud Think? 🙂
    I like that a lot, indeed I like this posting a lot
    and once I stopped giggling at the ‘Asshole’
    mention I soon realised what a truly excellent
    post this one is and thank you my friend for
    offering it 🙂

    You know, I do believe that I am going to like it here 🙂
    Have a most exquisite rest of weekend and dare I say it,
    oh yes… Be Wicked 🙂

    Andro

  5. Pingback: Modern-Day Robin Leach: Childhood Wishes and Adult Dreams. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

