Don’t Forget to Wash Your Hands… And Your Produce.

Shakespeare once said, “There’s small choice in rotten apples.” Despite the literary headache that actually reading Shakespeare gives me, I have to agree with the old bloke here. I cannot count the number of times I’ve gone to the grocery store or farm stand with good intentions, filling my basket to the top with fresh fruits and vegetables. My mind spins through the available recipes I can make with the fresh ingredients. Then, a few days later after work, I open the fridge to find squishy, rotten, suspiciously deflated produce.

I never understood where I was going wrong, until my recent trip to the pick-your-own farm. On the drive home, I caught my boyfriend reading the storage information given to us by the farmers. “Never wash your fruits and vegetables until they are ready to be used; they will spoil faster.”

Well, slap my bottom and call me Sally! Just in a simple car ride home, my boyfriend the farmers solved my mystery. Being a slight germaphobe, I wash every piece of produce before I even put it in the fridge. Please don’t judge my idiosyncrasies, as I only embrace yours.

In further research about storing and cleaning fruits and vegetables, I came across a wonderful article. Not only does the article give you tips, but it lists out the best way to wash and use several fruits and vegetables. Some of you may be thinking, “Isn’t this common sense?” But alas, I am not afraid to admit: I’m a Master’s degree student and I find the entire world of fruit and vegetable washing scary. I’d gladly tackle a 30-page paper on the historical context of various higher education laws than approach a head of lettuce and attempt to label it ‘clean’.

Produce Washing 101: How to Clean Fruits and Veggies

2 responses to “Don’t Forget to Wash Your Hands… And Your Produce.

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Blueberry Oatmeal Scones. | The Siren's Tale

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Five-Minute Blueberry Coffee Cake. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

