Wondrous Words Wednesday – “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane”

wondrous words wednesday

Wondrous Words Wednesday – Hosted by BermudaOnion

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can share new words that you’ve encountered or spotlight words you love. This is my first week taking part in WWW, and I am ridiculously excited! Oooh, how I love me some words! (Grammar pun intended.) I foolishly forgot to mark the book while reading to record the sentences these words came from. So instead, for my virgin week, we’ll have to just have a giggle about my first impression of the word.

This week my words come from “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane” by Katherine Howe, which I recently reviewed. Can I gush and tell you that Katherine Howe herself tweeted and thanked me for reviewing? Okay, too late now, I’ve already gushed.

Flotsam [noun]:
1. material or refuse floating on water
2. useless or unimportant items; odds and ends
3. a vagrant, penniless population

First impression? Flotsam? JETSAM?! Oh my goodness, this book just took a mermaid spin?! Clearly I was wrong.

Tutelage [noun]:
1. the act of guarding, protecting, or guiding; office or function of a guardian; guardianship
2. instruction; teaching; guidance
3. the state of being under a guardian or a tutor

First impression? Tutelage… hmph. Wonder if that’s the state people would say they’re in while wearing a tutu?

After those first impressions, let’s all say a round of thanks for Webster.

9 responses to “Wondrous Words Wednesday – “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane”

  1. Welcome to Wondrous Words Wednesday! I’ve heard flotsam and jetsam used together, too, and now I wonder what jetsam means!

  2. Oh, I am so looking forward to your weekly words. I, too, being a fan of words am giddy at the thought of you sharing the lesser known nouns, adjectives, and verbs. 🙂

  3. Welcome to WWW! LOL at your Little Mermaid reference! 🙂

  4. Caitlin, Nice to “meet” you. Another welcome to WWW! I’m happy to report I’m familiar with both of the words you shared this week- thanks for your “tutelage”

  5. Pingback: Wondrous Words Wednesday – “Fragile” « The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

