Eternally Freshly Passed for Freshly Pressed.

Before I accidentally hang myself with my own words, let me preface this by saying that I have found some amazing and inspiring blogs through Freshly Pressed. In fact, several of the blogs I follow and check regularly are Freshly Pressed findings. But…

Throughout each day, I submerge myself in reading; reading for work, reading for school, reading out of boredom, and reading for enjoyment. When it’s time for sleep most nights, my eyes burn with exhaustion from countless words and images. Yeah, I take it to that level.

I also like to think of myself as an equal-opportunity reader. I don’t judge a book by its cover and I don’t close out a blog post just because it’s not aesthetically pleasing. Although, what girl doesn’t love being pleased?!

With all that happy jazz stated, I have to get something off my chest. It’s been bubbling at my lips for months and I’ve attempted to continually swallow the words and place a perky smile on my lips. That ship has sailed folks… honesty, here I come.

Some of the posts that are Freshly Pressed are absolute rubbish. There! I said it. Now how many ‘Our Father’s’ do I have to say for forgiveness?

confessional

I don’t mean it in an angry or callous way, just very matter of fact. I won’t even try to lie: there have been times when I’ve run out of NyQuil to lull me to sleep, so I visit the Freshly Pressed page knowing there will be at least one post within the last few days that will have me sawing Z’s in minutes. Not to mention the grammatical and spelling errors that have slapped me in the face, and the unoriginal content that resulted in severe cases of déjà vu.

At the end of it all, these sporadic piss-poor Freshly Pressed posts bother me because they take away from the deserving and/or dedicated writers. There are blogs whose entire purpose is to be Freshly Pressed; people who are living, breathing, and waiting desperately for a WordPress employee to wave their magical wand, granting their writing worthy and necessary. I come across some of these blogs while randomly trolling the blogosphere and my heart audibly breaks a little for the person.

credit: sugarandbrunostore.com

credit: sugarandbrunostore.com

So, what do you say, WordPress? Instead of posting the 1,384,928th blog post on political ramblings or fashionista tips, why not give the rest of WordPress a shot. By acknowledging the unacknowledged, you could save the world. Okay, that’s a bit overkill. You couldn’t save the world, but you could save a dream. Or save someone’s self-confidence that is slowly slipping away.

Or, best of all, you could save the 94 cats that are squeezed into a studio apartment while their pet-hoarding owner types furiously and fanatically at the keyboard, in hopes of receiving the golden WordPress email saying they’re worthy.

17 responses to “Eternally Freshly Passed for Freshly Pressed.

  1. OK, I’ve been Freshly Pressed, but I’ll agree with you, a lot of the blogs that are featured are not all that impressive. I don’t think that I’ve ever come across a blog that was poorly written, i.e. spelling mistakes, grammar errors, but I’ve seen lots of lousy content selected. I think they make a real effort to showcase lots of different bloggers from all over the world, and lots of different topics, and that’s a good thing. I remember a time when it seemed there was nothing but cooking blogs selected, and then there were endless photo blogs chosen, so it’s a good thing that we’re seeing much more variety now (however, one week certainly felt like Lesbian-Gay-Bisexual-Transgender Week here on WP, considering all the blogs on that subject that were selected).

    So I don’t think the good folks at WordPress are necessarily selecting blogs based on merit alone-so don’t think yourself unworthy just because you are not chosen. There’s a lot of different factors going into those decisions (I think).

    • I definitely agree with you about the mix of blogs chosen. I’m glad that WordPress is showcasing a diverse collection of blogs and writing… but some that I have come across are just painful. This happens on any website that showcases writing; not everyone has the same reader tastes. While I would love to be Freshly Pressed one day, I also don’t crave it as many bloggers do that I’ve come across. I find contentment in seeing comments, likes, new followers, feedback, etc. Last night I stumbled across a WP blog where the writer literally had five posts back-to-back stating their hopes of being Freshly Pressed. That just breaks a girl’s heart. I couldn’t help but blog about it.

  2. I hear ya! I respect all writers but I mean, come on now. The one post I’ve had featured on Freshly Pressed was marginal compared to many of my other posts! I don’t know who’s in charge of all this, but I don’t understand their screening process.

    • I’m so glad you made the comment that you did… that has been one of my wonders about Freshly Pressed. When I look at my own writing, I know there are blog posts where I think ‘that’s pretty good, I’m proud of that’ and there are others that, looking back, feel a little sub par. I’ve always wondered what the writers thought about their own post that was Pressed.

  3. I’m not sure how it works, but they DO take recommendations. Maybe the next time you come across one of those great posts you could tweet a link @freshly_pressed?

  4. And I thought it was just me who felt that way. I got into blogging by following a blogger I found when I accidently accessed FreshPressed. I thought it was like wine snobbery. I just never found another post that was as good. Too many seem like they’re trying too hard, write something just for the sake of writing something. Daily Prompt – If you have to rely on someone else’s inspiration, it just isn’t going to be worthwhile. Karen hasn’t noticed spelling/grammar errors; I have, and I don’t go there often. SpellChek won’t catch everything, but it would catch most of what I noticed.

    • I remember the blog that I first found through FP — and I still follow the woman’s blog today, reading regularly. I often compare all posts to the blogs that have caught my eye, and that’s not entirely fair.

  5. I have thought the same exact thing only I didn’t have the courage to say it. I used to read FP but when I saw that many of the posts didn’t seem very interesting or even very well written I stopped reading it or even aspiring to be “FPed”. Well done!

  6. I’ve been Freshly Pressed a couple of times, so I hate to look a gift horse in the mouth, but I wouldn’t have chosen either post to be Pressed. Also, whenever I see Pressed posts that are poorly written, with poor grammar and spelling, it takes me down a notch. I think, “Wow, if that one got picked, mine wasn’t exactly an Oscar moment, was it?”
    I have run into some superb posts there as well. Sometimes I’ll overlook a few typos if what the post is on a subject I had yet to read or think about – new perspectives are always interesting to me. Maybe that’s the way it is with the FP editors.
    I won’t give you a spiel. Maybe it will happen, maybe it won’t, but your readership is awesome for not being FP’d. I had maybe 10 readers prior to it.

    • Thank you for the feedback. I adore your blog and writing… you are more than deserving of being Freshly Pressed. But that’s the other side to it too, that I didn’t even think to touch on – for the quality writers, seeing bad posts really takes away from their experience with FP too. Everyone deserves a shot in a sense, but at the same time, if there’s going to be a lot of hype revolving around becoming FP, then they show have a high standard all of the time, across the board. Not only would FP writers feel more confident, but it would set a better precedent to: this is how you get Freshly Pressed.

  7. Pingback: Inspiring? Try Speechless! « The Siren's Tale

  8. Pingback: Just Call Me Hypocritical. | The Siren's Tale

  9. yess,,,count me in for this post 🙂
    i love that cat’s picture. funny 😀

Time to share a tale of your own...

