Wondrous Words Wednesday – “Fragile”

wondrous words wednesday

Wondrous Words Wednesday – Hosted by BermudaOnion

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can
share new words that you have encountered or spotlight words you love.

Apparently I have commitment issues. Trust me, it’s news to me as well. I first took part in Wondrous Words Wednesday back in December. Have I posted since? That would be a big, fat no. In defense of myself, I do have maniacal lists and post-it’s all around my reading books, highlighting words for these posts. It’s the thought that counts, right?

My words this week come from my current read: “Fragile” by Lisa Unger. I’m about halfway through the book and not only am I completely hooked, but the author is a doll. I mentioned her book on Twitter during #FridayReads and she instantly tweeted a thank you message to me. Gush.

Ignoble [adjective]:
1. of low character, aims, etc.; mean
2. of low grade or quality; inferior
3. not noble; of humble descent or rank

“He might have even welcomed the hero’s death as opposed to the ignoble life he was living.” [page 3]

What a fun word! I feel like I’m surrounded by some ignoble characters in life. I may just have to put this adjective to good use in rebuttals with said ignoble folk.

Acquiescent [adjective]:
1. disposed to acquiesce or consent tacitly

“She was the kind of girl who started wars, at once acquiescent and defiant.” [page 11]

Thank you, Webster. Your definition of ‘acquiescent’ was oh so helpful. Why on earth do certain definitions only state the root of the word. That’s helpful, how? After looking up acquiesce, I am gathering that acquiescent means to comply silently or without protest. Maybe I should form an acquiescent relationship with Webster.

13 responses to “Wondrous Words Wednesday – “Fragile”

  1. I am going to share this with a friend. He loves this sort of thing.

  2. I love the sound of ignoble – I’ll have to try to use it soon. Thanks for playing along!

  3. Hi Caitlin! I’m glad you joined in on WWW and visited me on Joyfully Retired. I’m a big fan of Kathy’s word game. Once I started paying attention, it’s amazing how many new words I find every week in books, online, and, well, everywhere.

    • You took the words right out of my mouth! Since I originally heard about WWW and began collecting words, I look for and find them everywhere. Funny how once we are aware of something, it seems to occur more often!

  4. Hi Caitlin,

    First off, thank you so much for choosing to stop by Fiction Books this week. I love ‘meeting’ new people and your visits and comments will always be welcome.

    I definitely don’t think that you have commitment issues. I loosely ‘subscribe’ to several memes, however there can be quite long absences between my contributions to many of them. Most of my lapses are purely as a result of time constraints, mostly due to the fact that I spend so much of my free time blogging, that my reading time is suffering and something has to give eventually!!

    As to your words, I am so pleased to be able to say that I know them both … and that’s a rare achievement, I can tell you! There is always that slightly ‘smug’ feeling, which is completely selfish, yet does help restore my faith in my long-ago education!

    Enjoy the rest of your week, I shall be keeping track of ‘The Siren’s Tale’ on ‘Twitter’ from now on.

    Yvonne.

    • Hi Yvonne! Thanks for stopping by my blog as well 🙂 Most weeks I feel like I’m constantly attempting to juggle to get everything I want and need to get done. Unfortunately, sometimes the “needs” overtake the “wants”, which results in me not being able to post weekly for Wondrous Words! And I completely know what you mean about knowing the words through WWW. Whenever I check a blog and know the words listed, I feel secretly accomplished and proud!

  5. lol at acquiescent, I hate it when dictionaries do that! 🙂

  6. Two lovely words there. How cool to get a tweet from the author!

    • Thank you, Louise! I always get tickled pink when an author sends a tweet to me. I know some people glorify and admire mainstream celebrities like Justin Beiber or Beyonce… but for me, it’s all about the writers!

  7. Pingback: Wondrous Words Wednesday – “Fragile” « The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

