Inspiring? Try Speechless!

Over the past year or so, anyone who has followed my blog knows I’ve struggled with confidence in my writing. I’ve worried about being unfollowed, I’ve questioned why I write, and hell, we all know I’m eternally passed for Freshly Pressed.

But secretly, I like my writing. Is that selfish or self-aware to say? Either way, I also understand that I, as a reader, like my writing; however, I, as a reader, have a very specific reader style.

That’s the issue with writing. What will wow the socks off of one reader will bore and irritate another. Because of all this, receiving the Very Inspiring Blogger Award means that much more right now. Rob from Seasons of Insanity nominated The Siren’s Tale for this award. Thank you so much!

Truly, thank you to anyone and everyone who takes the time to read my words. You all are the bees knees. And I take that term seriously!

very inspiring blogger award

The rules of receiving the award:

– Display the award on your blog
– Link back to the person who nominated you
– State 7 things about yourself
– Nominate 15 bloggers (15 seems excessive, so I nominated 7)

Seven about the Siren:
1. My back hurts terribly from shoveling four days straight. Damn living in New England during a blizzard!
2. I am addicted to my electric heater in the Winter. I bring it from room to room.
3. I often worry I will run out of years well before I’ve read all the books I crave to read.
4. I always looked forward to Valentine’s Day when I was single; now that I’ve been in a long-term relationship, I barely take notice of the day. Don’t be sad single Valentiners! It’s just a bunch of hooplah.
5. I like animals more than people. True story.
6. My dream job is to be a published author (not famous, just with a loyal reader audience). I would open a small newsstand/coffeehouse featuring art and writing of locals, including delicious bakery treats made by yours truly.
7. I need a muse.

And the nominees are…
1. That Mom Blog – Karen’s posts are always inspiring, especially for those of us looking to improve ourselves while juggling multiple roles in life.

2. retiredruth – Life in the 50’s and beyond – Ruth’s posts are filled with nostalgia, humor, and inspiration. A beautiful glance to a simpler time.

3. Green Door Hospitality – Kenley Leigh’s posts are always eye-catching and beautiful. Just the touch of inspirational beauty you need in your day.

4. LargeSelf – Cathy’s posts always inspire me to take deep breaths and remember the bigger picture in life. Her writing reminds us of daily miracles.

5. Chubby Madness – Elizabeth’s blog inspires me with every post. She takes the negativity that society throws at us, and shines back upon it with brightness, humor, and self-acceptance.

6. The Green Study – Michelle’s posts range in topics, but all have one common theme: inspiration. Every post makes my brain wheels start turning and before I know it, I’m off writing or daydreaming about new ideas.

7. big house, little prairie – When I first found Laura’s blog, I was filled with envy by her life on a farm. With every post, I am inspired by the hard work and dedication it takes, and amazed by the beauty she is surrounded by.

32 responses to “Inspiring? Try Speechless!

  1. Caitlin,
    Congratulations on your award – it is much deserved! And thank you for the nomination. I love the variety of the blogs that you’ve nominated here and look forward to checking them out. And thank you for your kind words.
    Cathy

  2. I love #6. Is it crazy that I have exactly the same dream? I envision myself running a board game cafe, where I could sell local music/books, and spend all day writing my books in between customers. We can do it!!!

  3. Congratulations! Shoveling is a pain, but those of us in the mid-Atlantic are very jealous of your snow!

    • Thank you for that reminder! I personally am a Winter-hater, but I’ve also lived in New England for all but a year of my life. It’s so easy to get caught up in the irritation of the season and we forget to appreciate the beauty!

  4. I`ve been single since forever, and I could care less about Valentine`s day. It doesn`t mean anything, not really. That, and I hate the color pink, so when I get a boyfriend I wouldn`t be able to stand anything he got me for the holiday.

  5. Nothing wrong with loving your own writing! I embrace the same philosophy. I’m my own biggest fan. 😉

  6. I like #6 about you the best 🙂 even though you’re in another country, I would try to come for some coffee and treats 🙂 Coffeehouses like this are my favourites! There was one in my hometown and I miss it terribly.

  7. Love your list. So true about number 4, until you have kidlits, then you have to pay attention again, totally agree with number 5 (obviously) 😉 and I to could be ok with number 6! Thanks for the award and I look forward to checking out the other blogs.

    • I can only imagine the ‘to do’ lists associated with kids and Valentine’s Day. Especially now that most schools have that “everyone gets one” policy, Mom’s must have endless cupcakes, Valentine’s cards, and favors to organize. Just the idea overwhelms me! Haha.

  8. Congrats and your very much welcome.

  9. Congrats on your award. I love your list!! And thank you so much for the recognition! I really appreciate it! 🙂
    Kenley

  10. Aww congrats. You deserve it 🙂

  11. Pingback: I’ve Reached Award Euphoria. «The Siren's Tale The Siren's Tale

  12. Well done you! Think of yourself as ‘fresh pressed’ each time you post.

  13. i can just picture you dragging that damn heater from room to room ha ha. I have got to have my heat its a must when the winter kicks in. Really enjoying your blog so far, so I am going to add it to my fav’s

  14. I can see why you won awards, your a fantastic writer. From what I read (the dragon story ha ha) you have the same sense of humour as me. I have just read a funny post that you may not have read, it cracked me up, it was by floreakeats in humour on the reader, its why we should drop the word foodie, might make you laugh. Thanks for the follow by the way :O)

Time to share a tale of your own...

