Wondrous Words Wednesday – “Fragile” (Again)

wondrous words wednesday

Wondrous Words Wednesday – Hosted by BermudaOnion

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where you can
share new words that you have encountered or spotlight words you love.

Wednesdays keep sneaking up on me. In my last job, Wednesday was Hell day (aka: orientation day for new students); I would stay focused on the day all week in preparation of the hair-pulling to come. In my new job, Wednesday is just another day of the week. My escape from Hell Wednesday has resulted in a mid-week scrambling to let my brain catch-up in attempts to acknowledge it’s actually Hump Day.

Like my last Wondrous Words post, my words this week come from my current read: “Fragile” by Lisa Unger. This book is reawakening a reading hunger inside of me. Sometimes I go through months of reading casually, not feeling hooked by any author’s words. Lisa Unger’s book is the complete opposite; I think about the book and characters throughout my day, eager for the next taste.

If it wasn’t for the pesky full-time job, graduate school, and “adult responsibilities”, I could happily binge on my addiction until the cows come home.

Tectonic [adjective]:
1. pertaining to the structure of the earth’s crust
2. referring to the forces or conditions within the earth that causes movements of the crust
3. designating the results of such movements

“It was a dry brush fire, a shift of tectonic plates at the bottom of the ocean.” [page 16]

This turned into a fun little K-12 retention game for myself and my guy. We talk daily about my writing, blog, and books. No, he isn’t a fellow writer or bookophile, he just likes to keep his lady content. I mentioned adding “tectonic” to my list of words and so began his astonishment. He got quite the laugh, poking fun at the soon-to-be master’s degree graduate. The conclusion? He clearly mastered the retention of geography lessons in middle school.

Opulent [adjective]:
1. characterized by or exhibiting opulence
2. wealthy, rich, or affluent
3. richly supplied; abundant or plentiful

“What had seemed opulent on entering suddenly felt disturbingly fake, the studied and the purposeful display of wealth.” [page 87]

I adore this word! I’ve heard it before along the way, but again, I am dealing with a serious retention disorder. I am claiming this as a disorder in hopes people will be less judgmental. Is it working? No? Put your gavel away.

Klatches [noun]:
1. a casual gathering of people, especially for refreshments and informal conversation

There was an aura of worry and excitement in the hallways, klatches of girls gathered whispering, dramatic.” [page 119]

Refreshments and informal conversation? Sounds like my kind of party.

3 responses to “Wondrous Words Wednesday – “Fragile” (Again)

  1. I remember tectonic from an old science class but I’m sure I’ve never used it.

  2. Read, read, read, learn words, words, words! I have kaffee-klatch in an upcoming post.

Time to share a tale of your own...

