Just Call Me Hypocritical.

Last night as I anxiously awaited my dog’s veterinary appointment, my cell phone chimed off a new email had come in. The last text I expected to read came across my screen:

“Dust off the welcome mat and get ready to welcome some new readers — we’ve picked your post “Homesick” to feature on Freshly Pressed on WordPress.com!”

Well, slap my bottom and call me Fanny, I’m getting Freshly Pressed! Considering I recently posted about being eternally freshly passed for freshly pressed, I seem quite hypocritical now.

All my chatter about not wanting to be Freshly Pressed that badly slipped away as soon as I read the email. Suddenly I was Tina Turner dancing around, hitting ungodly notes, and craving sequins.Β Or something along those lines.

being freshly pressed

credit: fogsmoviereviews.com

Through a year of questioning my own writing, attempting to get out of a bad career, looking back at past writing styles, and battling societal issues like bullying, being Freshly Pressed truly is a blessing and a boost I need.

Now the time has come to wait. Wait to see my article pop up on the front WordPress page, wait for my phone to rattle and possibly break with incoming notifications (not all of us can afford a spiffy iPodPhonePadPurse), wait to meet new readers and bloggers.

With that said, to each and every one of you reading now before any Freshly Pressed hype begins, I want to say thank you. Every time I get a reader-nominated award, receive a comment from a new reader, or hear from one of my tried and true readers, I smile on the inside and out.

And that’s more than any lady can ask for.

27 responses to “Just Call Me Hypocritical.

  1. Awww congrats! I can officially say I knew you when…. :). Perfect news to enjoy your weekend with!

  2. It’s about damned time. And it’s what you get when you kvetch about not being Pressed! Enjoy the ride and congrats!

    • When I first got the email, I turned to my boyfriend and just shook my head. Then I danced. The head shaking came first because while I’ve always wanted to be Freshly Pressed, it’s never been a huge goal of mine. And the timing could not have been more comical, seeing as I just wrote about WordPress’ Freshly Pressed page. Now that my time is here, I’m like a pig in poo. I couldn’t be happier! Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Must be a family thing. Kudos!

  4. Wahoo! Congrats! You’ll know the second it happens – your email will be blowing up with people liking and commenting on your post. Enjoy the glory – you deserve it!

    • Oh boy – it happened late this morning. My poor phone just wants a gin and tonic at this point. It’s exhausted from vibrating. It’s so exciting! So far it’s been positive overall – a couple of “I think you are agoraphobic” posts, LOL. But I just remind myself these are new readers – they aren’t people who have been following for awhile and know who I am, my love for travelling, being outdoors, and going on adventures with my boyfriend. It’s been quite the ride so far… thanks for being so happy for me! That means a lot πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats on having made it to freshly pressed! I have yet to make it there sigh! reading your writing I can see why you are πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much! That’s very kind of you. Don’t worry – there’s a time for everyone and Freshly Pressed. Just a month ago I was writing how I’d never be FP’ed, and here I am. Just keep writing as often as possible and be passionate about what you write. They’ll find you πŸ™‚

  6. Recognition is a good thing. Good work!

  7. Congratulations! I believe I was also Freshly Pressed after declaring I didn’t think I ever would be and not being fussed by it… then I saw the email and danced around! haha.
    I’ll have to check out the post itself now πŸ™‚

  8. i think it’s so refreshing to be freshly pressed πŸ™‚
    congrats!!!

  9. Congratulations!! Bask in it πŸ˜€

  10. This is great! Congrats! ~ from the newbie πŸ™‚

  11. Fantastic! It’s kind of like telling yourself you don’t care abou valentines day and how it’s just a made up consumer holiday…then you get roses and couldn’t be more pleased! Congrats lady!

    • It’s funny – three years ago, I stopped caring about love and found my soulmate. Now, I stopped caring about being noticed by WordPress, and I get Freshly Pressed! Life is funny of irony and I love it.

  12. Pingback: Homesick | Inspired Vision

Time to share a tale of your own...

