Recipe: Healthy Italian Turkey Soup.

“It’s no coincidence that four of the six letters in health are heal.” – Ed Northstrum

One bad thing about having your best friend live 1000+ miles away is that you rarely get to see one another, and most communication is by email, instant message, social media, or phone. One great thing about having your best friend live 1000+ miles away is that through email, instant message, social media, and phone, you’re still able to encourage and support one another in a new healthier lifestyle.

While the reasons for changing my eating and workout habits are endless, the biggest motivating factor is that I just want to feel better. I don’t want to feel tired all the time. I want to feel comfortable walking into a room, no matter how many eyes are on me. I want to make it through a day without compulsively pulling at and adjusting my clothes to make sure any rolls or jiggles are hiding.

perfect weight, just too short

With that said, one of the ways my best friend and I are being supportive is through what we’ve deemed as a Long Distance Cooking Club. Every Sunday we will both be trying out a healthy recipe to sort through the mass millions online, on Pinterest, and in cookbooks.

I’ll be adding any winning recipes to my blog. After all, I’ve deeply neglected the ‘Recipe’ portion of my blog. Even with it just being a small feature to shake things up, that technically makes me a bad, bad, bad blogger. You can slap me on the hand if you’d like. No promises I won’t slap back, though.

The recipe is for Healthy Italian Turkey Soup. I found the original recipe at Our Best Bites and adapted from there to make the soup even healthier. Two days later, I am still thinking about this soup. I can hear the tomatoes and herbs calling my name from twenty miles away. This is where you stop your judgement, thanks.

meat browning

Over medium-high heat, cook the extra virgin olive oil, onions, garlic, and ground turkey. Once the turkey has browned, add the Italian seasoning. Sprinkle some pepper and kosher salt, to taste.

tomatoes added

Once the turkey meat has cooked, add in diced tomatoes, beans, oregano, and broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer on low for ten minutes.

spinach added

Ooh, look at that steamy freshness! After the original ten minutes of simmering, add your spinach and simmer for ten minutes more. You may want to add extra pepper at this time, depending on your taste.

healthy italian turkey soup

healthy italian turkey soup

Enjoy!

Healthy Italian Turkey Soup
Makes: 8+ servings

Ingredients:
½ Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
1 lb. lean ground turkey
½ large yellow onion, diced
4-5 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tbs. Italian seasoning
2 cans (15 oz. each) canned diced no sodium added tomatoes, not drained
2 cans (15 oz. each) Great Northern white beans, drained and rinsed
3+ 14 oz. cans low-fat, reduced sodium chicken broth
1 tsp. oregano
2 Tbs. dried parsley
5 cups fresh spinach, chopped up

Directions:
1. In a large stockpot, warm oil over medium-high heat. Add onions, garlic, Italian seasoning, and ground turkey. Cook until turkey is browned and cooked through. Salt and pepper to taste.
2. Once the turkey is cooked, add the tomatoes (including the juice), beans, broth, oregano, and parsley. Bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to low and simmer for ten minutes.
3. After ten minutes of simmering, add chopped spinach into the soup. Simmer for another ten minutes, then enjoy!

10 responses to “Recipe: Healthy Italian Turkey Soup.

  1. This sounds delicious — I love turkey and veggie soups, and they’ve become a staple in our house! And I feel your pain on living 1000+ miles away from your best friend: I’m in DC and my bestie lives in Seattle, so we only see each other once every few years. It’s also why my phone bill is outrageous. *Oopsie!*

    • I wish I was a better phone person! I have (what I lovingly call) a P.O.S. for a cell phone which makes me barely want to look at it, nevermind call/text. We do the majority of our talking through Google talk, FB, and email. But I can’t wait to get a better phone so I can chat with her more often. I can only imagine the growing cell bill!

  2. looks really delicious, i should try this when i’m at home. anyone. i love you kind of friendship. your first paragraph, that’s how my friends and i share our friendship too. we separate by miles :), but “you’re still able to encourage and support one another in a new healthier lifestyle.”

  3. Looks yummy. I bet I could make it with left over frozen turkey.

  4. Pingback: Tomato and Cilantro Turkey Soup | The Journey of Two

  5. Pingback: The Climb. | The Siren's Tale

  6. Pingback: {2013} Year in Review. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

