The Snowflake Generation.

Born into the Millennial generation, I can’t say I truly fit all the traits falling beneath this generational code. Generational traits are often spread through a blanketed approach for anyone falling beneath the allotted birth years. But what happens when generations are decades stretched apart, especially in modern times when life itself changes by the year, nevermind the attitudes and attributes of generations?

You’re categorized with people who share no common traits, attributes, morals, or ethics.

The differences between 1980’s Millennials and 1990’s / 2000’s Millennials are unnerving. Through working with teenagers and having unfortunate forced societal interactions with younger Millennials, the one word that comes to mind at the end of the interaction: horrified. Horrified for how children are being raised, and horrified for our country’s future.

When did we lose capability of saying phrases? JK, LOL, ROFL, YOLO!

When did we lose capability of saying phrases? JK, LOL, ROFL, BRB, GTG, WTG, YOLO!

Instead of accepting this conglomerate of Millennials, I prefer to view the Millennial generation as cutting off at 1989. For children born 1990 and forward, welcome the Snowflake Generation. Where every child is so unique and special that society should kiss the ground they walk on just for existing. And what would a new generation be without advice from the previous generation?

1. Watch your god damn manners. And I mean this in the most loving way possible. My experience with Snowflakes is typically rude encounters. Screaming outside neighbors’ windows for days on end, crossing in the middle of a 45 mph road and then screaming ‘fuck you’ to the cars screeching on their brakes, telling adults no to safety matters, cussing at adults and authority figures, and a general rudeness that oozes from their pores. You can’t automatically blame the Snowflakes, per se, but what happened to common sense? No one told me to watch my manners, I simply did it because it was the right thing to do. And it was expected.

How Rude

Stephanie Tanner, you know the deal.

2. Your profile pictures are pedophiles’ dreams, not “hot”. I have to ask: where are the parents in all this? My mother would have kicked my ass straight back over the self-respect line if I had ever taken, nevermind posted, pictures that are typical for Snowflakes on social media sites. Half of the pictures make adults sick to their stomachs, and the other half of the pictures are entertainment time for the pedophiles doing ten to twenty years at your local prison. Think wisely.

The truth behind your awful profile picture.

The truth behind your awful profile picture.

3. Put down your phone and step into real life.Studies and reports are coming out that the Millennial generation is one of the loneliest. Upon reading these studies, my automatic reaction? No shit. By living your entire life through online communication, you have no social skills whatsoever. Bullying has become an epidemic and underage girls are sharing their private parts with internet strangers via Chat Roulette. Put your tweets, twits, and tw*ts away — focus on forming a normal social life out in society. You know, where the sun shines and birds actually do tweet.

When I grow up, I want to be cool enough to solely communicate through text. Speech and interaction is SO overrated.

When I grow up, I want to be cool enough to solely communicate through text. Speech and interaction are SO overrated.

4. You’re not special and neither are snowflakes. As much as your coddling, helicopter parents have embedded in your mind that you are so special and unique, just like a snowflake, watch out for reality to hit. Snowflakes aren’t unique and neither is any living human on this earth. Do you honestly believe no one in the entire existence of this world has been like you, or had the same traits? You’ll have to excuse adults when we don’t stop everything we’re doing, at work or home, to be amazed by your entrance into a room.

Being awesome can't be listed as your full-time job on a resume.

Being awesome can’t be listed as your full-time job on a resume.

5. Find a real role model. Most Snowflakes’ role models? The rehab-before-18 celebrities that troll the covers of teen magazines. I hate to break this fairytale as well, but any adult could slice your role model in two with just a sprinkle of intellect and honesty. Your special Biebs who you adore so much? A monkey-thieving, reckless driving, train wreck following in the footsteps of Amanda Bynes, and headed straight to a special episode of VH1’s Behind the Music. Coming soon to a theater near you!

Pucker up ladies! This is your future.

Pucker up ladies! This is your future.

30 responses to “The Snowflake Generation.

  1. I don’t know what YOLO means, or ROFL, but I do know what LOL means and I’m doing it.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I was hoping it would make people get a good laugh in on a Friday 🙂 For future reference for Snowflake conversations you might face in society — ROFL means ‘rolling on the floor laughing’ (always a concern if someone is doing this and typing simultaneously). And YOLO is ‘you only live once’. How original!

      • Ah! Thank you! I’ve been meaning to Google them but I’m too lazy. My two-year old calls one of my boobs ‘Yolo,’ so that’s what it means to me. He’s still nursing.

  2. I share many of these sad concerns over the snowflakes today…however I really have to say I loved the ‘put your tweets, twits and twats away. so funny, made my day.

    • Ha! I’m so glad you loved that line! I actually was hemming and hawing over putting the word “twat” on my blog. But after talking with a friend, she reminded me that the whole purpose of my blog is to be myself and show my writing. While I can’t say I’ll be featuring ‘twat’ or ‘fuck’ lines in the novel I’m writing, it’s perfectly fitting for my blog and for the real me 🙂

  3. This is very well-written, and funny and enjoyable, but then I thought “Holy shit, she knows some really awful people”. I’ve had a different experience, meeting quite of few sharp, impassioned and caring twenty somethings. I’m a Gen X-er and people were characterizing us as disenfranchised slackers for many years. A study done in 2011 showed a different picture entirely, showing Gen X-ers as highly educated, balanced, happy and family-oriented. So, maybe there’s hope for the Millennials as they mature. Besides, I think we can find dipshits in every generation.

    • So, so true Michelle! Most of my experience with older Millennials (1980’s babies) are positive. We’re told we’re lazy and dreamers, but I see innovators and forward-thinkers that don’t want to be bogged down by the humdrum 9-5 life. However, my experiences with younger Millennials (1990’s and forward) have been… disappointing to say the least. The entitlement seems to be through the roof, but as you point out, that can be see in any generation and through different personality traits. It’s interesting to see who falls in/around the typical generational traits, and who falls completely outside of their “category”.

      PS – In my neighborhood, I am surrounded by poorly raised Millennials that literally run the neighborhood through their loud and obnoxious antics. And through my career, I’ve worked a lot with younger Millennials who just want, want, want, need, need, need, and provide no respect, thankfulness, or humbleness in return. So my view could be slightly skewed on this topic 😉

  4. I think you’re right that there’s a definite distinction between 80’s and 90’s/2000’s babies and I think it has quite a bit to do with growing up with constant access to computers and the internet. Instead of linking us all together, there probably should have been a generational split somewhere in the early 90’s.

    • The computers and internet definitely play a huge role – I have to agree! The first time I used a computer was in middle school to learn some typing skills and the internet didn’t come into my house until I was about 15. Yet in today’s times, a 3 year old can teach their parents new apps on an iPhone. Technology is a big part of younger Millennials’ lives. But I worry, is the technology even being used appropriately? Instead of research or school work, some are using it for harassment, running away and negative actions.

  5. Oh, so true! I unfortunately fall into the same Millennial category as you do and I’m horrified at the behaviour of the younger members of our generation. The thing I can’t get over is how RUDE some of them are! They think texting constantly during dinner is perfectly acceptable and the boys think girls are just for their own pleasure (and sometimes vice versa!). You have to ask yourself, is technology being used appropriately? In most cases, not really. It’s being used as a babysitter for young children more and more.

    I hope the Snowflake Generation will snap out of it when the younger ones grow up, but I doubt it.

    • I honestly feel like the cell phones should be outlawed for anyone under 25 nowadays. People literally do nothing but look at their phones or look at their laps (while trying to hide the fact they are looking at their phones). I lose my cell phone for days at a time and some Millennial students I work with (18 – 22ish) are horrified by this. They cannot imagine going 10 minutes without telecommunication, nevermind a few days. It’s pretty concerning especially when you see how terrible their attitudes can be about anything real life (going on vacation, outdoor activities, simple living, etc.).

  6. hownottokillyourparents

    I love the concept of a Snowflake Generation. Really. And I agree about the “twat” line. Twat is a great word. It should be used more often. I teach at community college, so I see a lot of these kids up close. It’s sad and adorable when they expect special treatment for something that is oh so not special. The good thing? Many of them are capable of nutting up and getting it together after I knock them down a peg or two. I think there’s hope.

    • Oh, higher education… isn’t it a peach? Sometimes I question if my views are skewed because I work in a private college that is fairly prestigious (aka – all the students are rich). I sometimes wonder… am I just surrounded by entitled people? But no – your comment shows that this unfortunately is an epidemic for all younger Millennials, haha.

      I really believe there’s hope too. When I’ve had to have some “life lessons” conversations with the students, they usually will back down to flat out reality pushed in their face. (Ex – No you can’t sleep at work and be paid. Why? Because you’ll be fire, it’s irresponsible and there’s a line of people out the door looking for a job like yours.)

  7. As an old fuddy-duddy (37) on the tail end of GenX, I enjoyed this post. I have a close friend who is a pre-90’s Milennial and she gets so tired of all the assumptions that are made about her generation. I have to admit, I see a lot of what you’re saying in some of the Milennials.

    On the other hand, my generation was once widely known as the “slacker generation,” back when I was in high school. Now it’s those same “slackers” going around and criticizing the next generation, and I find that a little hilarious. 🙂

    • Such a good point… I think the views society has on generations changes over the years, as they change. Will young Millennials be socially awkward and rude individuals 20 years from now? I sure hope not! And I believe there’s room for improvement, always. A whole generation can’t be a lost cause 😛

  8. Great piece, both funny and true )

  9. Yes to all of this!! As a “Millenial” at the very earliest start of that generation, I don’t identify at all with the post-1990’s Millenials. It’s not fair to call us part of that generation, in my opinion. Yes, we have picked up on some of the technology/social media and use it wisely, but we still were raised with enough of the self-sufficient values of previous generations to thrive in the workforce. Today’s college students scare me on a regular basis. Their self-entitlement and obliviousness to what “self reliance” means is baffling.
    I could go on, but what I’m really saying is AWESOME POST!! 🙂

    • Yes! More feedback from other higher education workers! I’m seeing a theme here 😛 I am constantly shocked by how younger Millennials act. The things I have to remind students about or explain to students is shocking. Not to mention the fact that most of the students I see on a daily basis are in their early 20’s and have never even worked a job! I can’t believe that… I started working at 13 years old and full-time by 17. Sometimes it can be comical, but other times when they ask me what I’m doing for the summer or what I’m doing on a Friday, my eye twitches as I respond, once again, “Working.” And this level of responsibility is completely lost on them… most don’t even understand what a full-time job is. “40 hours or more a week?! That’s slavery!”. Oh, okay then. Millennials… what on earth can we do with them?!

  10. As a member of the ‘Snowflake Generation’, I must unfortunately but amusingly agree with almost everything you’ve said! So many people I know are like this, and to some extent, I have to laugh because I may have some of these flakey traits too. Brilliantly written!

    Humour aside, in our defence, we’ve been brought up in a similar dog eat dog world as previous generations except with different rules, digital weapons and unfortunately a huge lack of real role models. I’m so thankful that I have watchful parents that kept my feet on the ground!

    • Thanks for the great feedback… it’s wonderful to hear from a younger Millennial! You make a great point… between the digital onslaught thrown at your generation and the lack of role models (as society turned focused on media) really is a disservice to the generation. It makes me wonder what effects social media and print media will have on the current generation growing up…

  11. Reblogged this on ADoseofPersonalWhim and commented:
    As a member of the ‘Snowflake Generation’, I must unfortunately but amusingly agree with almost everything said in this post! Brilliantly written! So many people I know have grown up like this and I have to laugh, because, I guess that I have some of these ‘flakey’ traits too.

    Humour aside, in our defence, we have been brought up in a similar dog eat dog world as previous generations except with different rules, digital weapons and a huge lack of real role models. We have been indoctrinated into using every opportunity to “Brand Ourselves” but a lot of us don’t really understand what that really means. I’m so thankful that I have watchful parents that have kept my feet on the ground!

    Over and Out.

  12. Pingback: The Demise of Society. | The Siren's Tale

  13. (Admission: We are Boomers. Boomers are the original Helicopter Parents. We created what George Carlin referred to as the “Cult of the Child.” We should be ashamed of ourselves.)

    During our stint as parents, my wife and I were simultaneously Sunday School Teachers, Scout Leaders, and Youth Leaders because the other parents were too busy (e.g., bowling leagues, softball tournaments, and football games with the guys) or otherwise too important to lend a hand. Never mind that we also had careers that required travel and long stressful hours.

    It was during our encounters with these parents that we came to understand just how perfect and gifted these children really were, because after all, they were their children. It was silly of us to not know that these wunderkind were going to receive full academic and athletic scholarships. And we (as mere volunteers) were obligated to accommodate not only the children, but also their parents.

    It is now from our perspective in time that we can look back and giggle to ourselves: those perfect children have been in and out of jail or prison, in and out of rehab, living on the streets due to drug abuse, divorced at 24 years of age with custody of multiple children, living at home and unemployed because they can’t function without parental intervention (i.e., they’re Snowflakes), or can’t find jobs because no one will hire a person who takes six years full time to complete a four-year bachelor’s degree program or four years full time to complete a two-year associate’s degree program (i.e., they’re lazy and coddled).

    We didn’t rescue our children when they messed up: They were expected to take responsibility for their actions. It was never fun, and sometimes it was flat out ugly. But no one ever said that being a parent was always going to be pleasant. Our children are university graduates (with no debt), married (never divorced), beginning professional careers, starting families, and are happy. And as a result, we are also happy.

    I’d feel sorry for the children and parents we selflessly helped over the years, but after how they treated us, Schadenfreude can be rewarding.

    • One of the biggest responses I hear to my feelings about the snowflake generation is — “Well, blame who raised them!” I definitely think, in some cases, this is where the issues began. Over-pampering your child or leading them to believe the world will accommodate their every wish and whim is creating a monster. Childhood should be as idyllic as possible since we only have one, but it also should be rooted in rationality, understanding of the larger world picture, and manners. Or at least, that’s what my future children have to look forward to 🙂

  14. I work in higher ed too! I’m an advisor. What do you do?

    I see some really promising kids, but oh yes, I do so an astonishing lack of manners from some of our students. That I can handle. What always blows me away, though, is hearing from their parents. I don’t think parents should be involved AT ALL, beyond perhaps that first visit or move-in day. The fullest extent of my father’s involvement in my college experience was writing the checks. The rest was up to me, including fighting my own battles.

    • I work in Student Services 🙂 Specifically right now I work with disabled students and accommodations.

      There are definitely some promising students out there in this generation! I’ve worked with a few that I can’t help but think “Wow, they are so much more on the ball than I was at their age.” But at the same time, I’ve worked with too many that leave me pulling my hair out, wondering why their parents never taught them simple rules like “please”, “thank you”, and waiting turns.

      The parents are, without a doubt, the most difficult part of the job. They invade their children’s privacy and can’t let go (or at least that’s what I’m experiencing with the current parents). I can only imagine the mixed emotions that come with sending your child off to college, but they are 18. They are adults. Let them go and let them fly!

  15. I feel like Millennials demonstrate some extreme behaviors, and the fact that some current conditions in society are extreme (the recent economy, parental guidance or lack thereof) probably contributes to some of this.

    On the one hand, winding one’s way through college and getting any, and I mean any, job is getting tougher and tougher. I’ve seen advisors and other University officials yell at and blame students for issues that the officials should be finding solutions to (not that there aren’t great faculty and advisors out there, but I’ve seen some venting their spleens on clueless 18 year olds, who by nature ARE going to be idiots). Being an older Millennial, I can say that universities and employers can be just as cold as parents are overinvolved.

    On the other hand, I’ve seen incredible rudeness and laziness in fellow 20 somethings. Running into fellow pedestrians because you’re looking at your cellphone? Acting like turning on a dishwasher is too much work? Please.

Time to share a tale of your own...

