The Climb.

My healthy lifestyle that began back in April came along with a main goal to overcome a teenage defeat. When I close my eyes and drift back through my memories, I can still remember the day I said “I can’t” and surrendered.

Along with a teenage community group founded in my church, one Sunday we took off toward the mountains with a mission to climb, summit, and become closer to God. My body dragged itself halfway up and collapsed at a rest area, while I began wondering how to tell my Reverend that I simply could not do it. This memory has revisited me throughout the years; it’s one of the few times in my life where I quit.

This past weekend I chipped away at the defeat-filled memory. By picking the summit closest to home as a starting point, my guy and I took off at 7:30am with protein bars, water, and determination as guides. At 8:30am, we reached the summit.

And I proceeded to celebratory dance, shuffle, shimmy, and shake.

gate outside the summit

moss covered forestcobwebs and dewrest stop

rock texturesobservation towersketchingsno firesthe view

9 responses to “The Climb.

  1. So proud of you!!!

  2. I love your story. I love your determination. I really love what you saw along the way.

  3. You go, girl! Awesome job and completely inspiring. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Iโ€™ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award because I find your blog thought-provoking and inspiring.

    If you choose to accept, hereโ€™s what you need to do:
    1. Display the Award Certificate on your blog.
    2. Announce your win with a post. Make sure to post a link back to me as a โ€˜thank youโ€™ for the nomination.
    3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers.
    4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have linked them in the post.
    5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

    Rule #6, whether you accept or not, is to keep being awesome. โค

  5. I love your artistic work. There is something very calm about it. It has a soul to it. I wish I had your ability to set the stage. A few of my tales (not tail) are on my blog. If you get a moment take a peek. If it gives you a smile than I have made my day and possibly yours.

Time to share a tale of your own...

