The Crossroads of Fear and Acceptance.

Lately it seems for each day that passes, a new health-related incident unveils itself and shakes me to my core. People passing away from cancer in their twenties and thirties, children being diagnosed with terrible diseases before their lives have even began, and people grasping at straws in attempts to explain the unexplainable in grief and loss.

Whether from society, loved ones, or media, we are constantly reminded that our time is a short, precious gift. With these stories swirling around us daily, mixed with our own histories of trauma and loss, the lines of fear and acceptance in life begin to blur.

Don't Be Afraid / From The Siren's Tale

As children, we have the ability to ignorantly believe that a wasted day is just that. A simple drop in the bucket that will not be considered again.

But each year I grow, learn, and see more of this world, a wasted day cannot be so casually tossed aside. A wasted day could be the last opportunity for enjoying our loved ones, laughing in the sunshine, or smelling a fresh batch of french-pressed coffee urging your senses to awaken.

And this knowledge stunts me in fear lately. Instead of spending days embracing each moment with a gratitude-filled heart, time has been spent focusing on the ‘what if’s’ in life. Time has been slipping between my fingers before I’ve captured the moment and I feel desperate to yell out, “Come back! Please, come back.”

Life is Too Short and Beautiful / From The Siren's Tale

I stand in limbo at the crossroads of fear and acceptance in life. Do I fear how little time I or my loved ones may have? Or do I accept that life is a short-lived gift that should be embraced wholeheartedly every day?

Do I fear living a shallow life filled with pursuits that aren’t true to my heart, but necessary for the time being? Or do I accept that my life is in transition between hard-learned realities and passion-filled dreams?

I often look to my feet to remind myself of which path to walk in life. As silly as that may sound, this quick glance is more than a reminder that my feet can carry me where I need to go. With one foot memorializing a love once lost (my past), and one reminding me to fear shallow living (my present and future), I always seem to find the right path eventually.

Contemplating Life / From The Siren's Tale

So here, I trudge forward. Step by step, moment by moment, breath by breath. Casting away the fear and worries of yesterday, and focusing on the beautiful moments of today.

The pitter-patter of autumn’s raindrops outside, tempting me to jump in puddles and embrace my inner-child. The warm, damp breeze circling through the trees, making echoes that sound like exclamatory remarks. The smile received after helping a student learn new ways to approach old learning.

Today is just plain beautiful.

How do you face your fears?
What ways do you embrace the beauty of each day?

11 responses to “The Crossroads of Fear and Acceptance.

  1. wow, I get this. beautifully written. I had just learned about your memorial tattoo when you responded to a comment I made. I like that your feet remind you of past and future and this tells me so much about you, the way you feel so strong with your whole entire heart.

  2. Nicely written.
    I am of an age when things fail. Last summer I had to deal with a series of illnesses, each creating or hurting the other. So I feel your discord. For me, I really believe that suffering comes from the lack of acceptance. So during my time of fear and confusion I told myself the usual, change is the rule and permanence of form is a fantasy. Most importantly for me, I constantly reminded myself this is ok, it is not bad or good it just is as it is. I don’t me to imply these thoughts and beliefs can help everyone, but they do me.
    I also know, as I recover and rebuild, I will have to deal with this again as I continue to age and change.

    • I really like how you approach fear and acceptance, and thank you for sharing your story! I definitely agree that suffering comes from resisting acceptance. You just have to say “it is what it is” and do your best in the situation. Hoping you have a great recovery.

  3. What a beautiful post… full of inspiration…but there are so many constraints to how much can you adapt n change in life practically!!

  4. Very well written and I can totally relate. I try to embrace the beauty of everyday and be in the moment but sometimes it is easy to get caught up in the routine and struggles of everyday life.

    • Tammy, thank you for stopping by and commenting! It’s so hard to let go of our fears and just enjoy everyday when we know life’s so beautiful, but short. Like you said, it’s so easy to get caught up in the day-to-day and miss out on so much beauty.

  5. I think what you said about children is interesting, but it’s so true. When you’re little, you don’t really think about each day being something special. At I’ve gotten older, I really try to squeeze as much as I can out of every day. Not that I am always very good at it, but this is definitely something to think about. Love that picture of your feet. I always wanted to get a tattoo on my foot. My dad would have killed me, though 😉

    • Thank you for your kind words, Amanda 🙂 It’s amazing to me how life perspective changes so much each year, decade, etc. It’s an ever-turning wheel where I’m always learning something new.

      And thank you for the kindness about my tattoos! I got my first foot done when I was 24 as a memorial for a boyfriend passed away, and I think that’s the only reason my Dad’s heart didn’t break. My other foot I had done for my 28th birthday… now that one, that didn’t go over too well 😉

Time to share a tale of your own...

