Gratuitous Reading.

With officially four weeks to go, my graduate program is quickly coming to an end. Sound the celebratory alarms, please! The list of things I’ve wanted to do {but have put off for two years for school} is rapidly growing. My body is buzzing with excitement to learn canning, get back into pottery, start my Etsy shop, and attend agriculture workshops.

What is happily sitting at the top of the list? Reading for enjoyment. No more 800+ page books filled with academic garble; just the pure, sweet bliss of reading a book that’s good for the soul.

Even though I can’t read for enjoyment yet, I happily encourage all of you to do it! And in ode to Thanksgiving peeking around the corner, I collected a list of books that are filled with gratitude and thankfulness.

Gratitude Filled Book List / From TheSirensTale.com

1. “One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are” by Ann Voskamp – For those of us who struggle finding gratitude during the hard times.

2. “365 Thank Yous: The Year a Simple Act of Daily Gratitude Changed My Life” by John Kralik – For those of us who find gratitude too challenging.

3. “Real Love for Real Life: The Art and Work of Caring” by Andi Ashworth – For those of us who want to understand that gratitude comes in many forms.

4. “What Makes You Grateful?: Voices from Around the World” by Anne O. Kubitsky – For those of us that want to be grateful, but are short on time.

5. “Thanks!: How the New Science of Gratitude Can Make You Happier” by Robert A. Emmons – For those of us that are skeptical to the power of gratitude.

6. “Attitudes of Gratitude: How to Give and Receive Joy Every Day of Your Life” by M.J. Ryan – For those of us that need a boost in returning to gratitude-filled life.

7. “Choosing Gratitude: Your Journey to Joy” by Nancy Leigh DeMoss – For those of us that simply don’t know where to start.

8. “Thank You, Thanksgiving” by David Milgrim – For all the grateful little ones.

Happy Thanksgiving / From TheSirensTale.com

11 responses to “Gratuitous Reading.

  1. Yay for canning and reading!! I can’t seem to get enough of both! The one I can always help suggest recipes for. 😉 And judging by the list above, I think you’ve more than covered the start of a great reading list! I think that was my absolute favorite thing about getting done with school. I just got lost in book after book and loved every minute of it! 🙂 Cheers for the graduation countdown!
    Kenley

  2. Congratulations on being so close to being done with your degree!!! My husband still has a year left but we’re still starting to count down the days. 🙂 You’ve given me ideas for some good books to read. 🙂

    • Thank you so much 🙂 I promise it will go by fast overall for you and your husband! There were plenty of times during the process I felt like it would never end. But now with only a few weeks to go, it feels like it flew by.

      Hope you enjoy the reads!

  3. I can’t wait for you to be able to read for enjoyment. I’m proud that you have worked so hard!! I have read your numer one there on the list twice. loved it.

  4. Interesting reading list. I understand looking forward to a new start, a start of another cycle. It’ll be here quicker than you can blink. What are you studying? I’m sorry, don’t remember reading what on your blog…

Time to share a tale of your own...

