An Ode to 30.

Yesterday was my beau’s 30th birthday. We met when he was 26, which now seems like a lifetime ago despite the short four year span. He seemed so much younger when we met, still with bright eyes to a new world all the while having the oldest soul I know. Now (and then), he’s such an amazing man. A man who makes me proud to not only call him my partner, but to know he is my best friend and greatest support.

And he’s the best fake cake eater I know.*

Our Love Collage / From TheSirensTale.com

Recently with my restless heart and cabin fever on the rise, my beauΒ suggested a day trip to our future home area to meet some locals, check out the farming market in the early winter, and explore areas we hope to purchase our home and land in. He barely uttered the town’s name before I was buttoning up my jacket and grabbing a camera on the way out the door.

Stuck Behind Tractor / From TheSirensTale.com

Fall Corn / From TheSirensTale.com

Farm Sign / From TheSirensTale.com

Farm Sign / From TheSirensTale.com

Apple cider donut with a hot apple cider? Enter. Fall. Heaven.

Fall Reds / From TheSirensTale.com

Western MA / From TheSirensTale.com

Waterway / From TheSirensTale.com

Red Barn / From TheSirensTale.com

Huck in the Woods / From TheSirensTale.com

This sense of adventure and constant devotion to make me happy are just two reasons on an endless list of why he’s amazing. My life is simply blessed with Michael in it. Happiest of happy birthdays, my love. I can’t wait to unravel the next 30 years of adventures with you!

* I love cooking and baking. Every year I tell my guy I’m making him a homemade birthday cake. And every single year, I ruin the cake. Despite this, he still loads his spoon full, stuffs the horrible concoction in his mouth, and smiles through the taste. He’s just. that. good.

35 responses to “An Ode to 30.

  1. smiling all the while I read this. Where you will someday live looks so very quaint. It’s one of those places I would love to visit. So much open.

  2. Happy birthday to your wonderful man-partner! It’s wonderful when two people are able to have such a genuine, loving connection, and it made me smile to read your description of him. πŸ™‚

    Also, I just about tried to jump through my computer screen into the idyllic scene you’ll be living in someday. (Is the move happening soon-ish?) It looks absolutely beautiful, and it seems like the kind of place that has a real sense of community. Both are fabulous on their own, but the two of them together is a winning combination.

    • Thank you, Lillian! We moved in with my parents in October, so we should be househunting by October 2014. Here’s hoping the year flies by (in a good way!)

      I fell in love with the area because of the community. Growing up on the South Shore in Massachusetts, I’m used to… well, let’s just say that most of the loud, rude assumptions people make about Massachusetts people is true. I’ve never felt like I “fit” where I live, and when I came across this community I fell in love. Everyone is kind, smiling, and waves when they see you. You walk into the local market and someone wants to genuinely ask about your day and how you’re doing, even if you’re a stranger. It’s a pretty big farming community, so many of locals rely on one another to get through the winters and bad seasons. I just adore it!

  3. Abbitude Problem

    Quaint and pretty pictures!

  4. What a lovely post! Happy birthday to your guy.

  5. Beautiful photos!! Such a fun adventure. Happy bday to your man (and yay for 30!).

  6. Wonderful post – you live in a lovely area! Thanks for sharing and Happy Birthday to your sweetie! πŸ™‚

  7. Awww, this is such a sweet post. Happy belated birthday to him! The pictures are lovely. I can relate to your love of cook/baking and the culinary failures that inevitably come along the way. I’m terrible at baking cakes!

    • What is it about cakes?! I simply can’t master them. I can’t even begin to bake them! Despite following all the steps, they always turn out a flop. In this case, I breezed way too quickly through the recipe and ended up putting a punch of lime juice in the cake instead of the frosting. Things took a turn from bad to worse from there, haha.

  8. This is so sweet πŸ™‚ I had to laugh about the cake…even though I’m a prolific baker, I had a similar “incident” on my boyfriend’s birthday a couple years ago. I was living in another state at the time, and I really wanted to make my mom’s special raspberry cream cake. She sent me the recipe and talked me through it on the phone… but when the time came, I totally ruined it — and then proceeded to start crying and throw it in the garbage. All while my boyfriend looked on in horror. At least you didn’t do that!

  9. I’m so happy for you! πŸ™‚ happy birthday !! The sweetest part is being able to eat the food your loved ones made (whether delicious or not). Its the love you put in it that counts.

  10. Happy birthday to your honey! I hope y’all find the perfect spot to live.

  11. He sure sounds like a keeper if he’ll persist in eating a bad cake! πŸ˜› My man is turning 30 in a few months. Time goes by fast!!

  12. ❀ Happy (belated) birthday to your love! The town your moving to looks adorable! I want to move there too now. πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, Susannah! The town and whole area is just adorable πŸ™‚ My guy is trying to convince me to look about 30 miles outside of it, landing us in Vermont. It’s all such a big adventure.. I can’t wait to see where we end up.

  13. THese are amazing pictures you have!!! Thanks for saying hello on my blog yesterday! Your blogger profile didn’t have an email so I couldn’t email you back. But just wanted to say hello and thanks:) love Katie

  14. Happy Birthday to your guy! This looks like such a beautiful area, I love exploring new parts of the country through other bloggers:) Now I’ll be craving apple cider all day, lol!

  15. Pingback: Christmas Time Was Here. | The Siren's Tale

  16. Pingback: {2013} Year in Review. | The Siren's Tale

  17. Pingback: The Return of Woodstock. | The Siren's Tale

  18. Pingback: The Return of Woodstock. | belong with wildflowers

Time to share a tale of your own...

