Where Are You Going?

As much as I’d love to start crooning Dave Matthews from the title of this post, I promise I won’t go there. For now. But you can never be sure when I’ll break out into full song and dance. Pre-warning!

After posting “Getting in the Spirit” a few days ago, I was humbled, honored, and amazed by the emails that came through. I welcome any and all of you to continue to reach out to me: How can I make this holiday season better for you?

Courage To Ask / From TheSirensTale.com

Out of all the emails, there was one recurring theme. A question posed to me, by many of you: Farm? Shop? What are you talking about?!”

I suddenly realized I have hinted here and there, but haven’t come right out and explained where I’m going right now in life. Most of my posts are dedicated to specific purposes: tales of love, tales of laughter, gratitude lately, etc. I {stupidly} assumed that an update post about me would bore y’all to tears. But you’ve asked, so here it is!

Don't Assume / From TheSirensTale.com

{The guest post I wrote in November at The Wellness Glow touches on this as well!}

1. You’re starting a farm? What the what?!
This past summer I hit a breaking point. I realized I could no longer be fake and live a career girl, business lifestyle. It’s just not for me. I’ve always wanted to work with my hands, not my mind. After endless conversations with my guy and family, I admitted my dreams: I want to be a farmer. Overalls, dirt under the nails, messy hair, aching back… the whole nine yards. It wasn’t until I spoke the words aloud that I realized I’ve spent all my free time over the past few years at farms, in the country, and learning with my hands.

2. What type of farmer will you be?
I’m a vegetarian-turning-vegan {the sane type, promise}. Because of this, my farm will be organic, and the main products will be vegetables, beans, fruits, and herbs. My farm will be a “no kill” farm and I would love to be a sanctuary for abused and neglected farm animals. I also will be learning beekeeping to sell honey and honey-related products. Expect some goat friends as well!

3. What else? Just crops and honey?
There are other specific items that I will create and sell from the land, but I am going to keep those tucked in my back pocket for now. There will also be some services offered that I’m keeping under wraps until it’s time. Here’s a little hint… my farm plan encompasses several of my passions: agriculture, sustainability, animals, natural healing, etc.

4. Wait, so you’re starting a farm and a shop?
My guy and I will be farm-hunting come the end of 2014. We changed our living arrangement a few months ago to begin saving the down-payment needed for the farm and land. One year seems far too long to sit idly by waiting for my dreams, so in the meantime I will be opening an Etsy shop within the beginning months of 2014. The Etsy shop will sell handmade delights, and eventually will become the online marketplace for my farm goods.

Courage to Chase Dreams / From TheSirensTale.com

What are your inner dreams?
If you could do anything for work, what would you do?

46 responses to “Where Are You Going?

  1. I love that you have figured out what your heart desires and early on. I’m in my 40’s and still working for our family business and not truly living my dreams. I’m excited for your future and this year flew by so I can only hope next year will do the same for you. Thank you for sharing here. Much love, I’m hoping you much success, peace and patience while working towards your dreams. Love your friend Tracie

    • Thank you so much, Tracie! It’s funny how our true “calling” beckons us at different times. If you spoke to me even 5 years ago, I would tell you I was going to be a clinical psychologist who lived in the city. My, how things change!

      Thank you for all the well wishes… I’m so excited for this journey 🙂

  2. HOORAY! This is so awesome, and in so many ways: the fact that you’re listening to your heart and being true to yourself, the fact that you’re going to do such amazing work (I’m of the opinion that we need more farmers and animal sanctuaries, so those are both huge wins), and the fact that you’re taking such concrete steps in pursuit of your goals. Yay! The farm is going to be awesome, and I can assure you that I’ll be visiting your Etsy shop often.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to do a happy dance on your behalf. 🙂

  3. Wow!!! This is such an exciting step!!! I can’t wait to hear how your farming dream comes together!!! Good for you to be pursuing your dreams. 🙂

  4. Kudos on chasing the dream! I look forward to reading about your quest.

  5. Well congradulations and best of luck…. farming is a labor of love and I hope that you are successful in what ever you try… I on the other hand am glad we were incuraged to move off the family farm and start fresh.. I do miss the chickens but some of the other work is better left to those who dont mind being tied down… Our dream after long years of working for the farm and on the farm are to fish and hunt were ever and when ever we want…photographing and filming and blogging along the way… so you see I have at least started the blog and we are bound for Colorado next fall for hunting and fishing… enjoy your farm it is where I discovered God and still thank him everyday for those 15 years.

    • Thank you for your kind words and wishes, Jolynn! I can imagine missing the farm, but I also understand feeling “tied down”. This is something my guy and I have talked a lot about and hope to become friendly with other local farmers that may be able to help look over the farm/animals when we need to be away. I can’t wait to start this adventure and look forward to the lessons I’ll learn along the way!

  6. Very exciting, I admire your courage! Be sure to keep us all posted on your etsy shop so we can support you!
    Jenna

  7. How exciting this all sounds to me! I envy anyone who works a farm, and wish you every success. Keep us updated. 🙂

  8. I’m at a career crossroads myself, and seeing you have the courage to pursue what you want instead of what people consider “safe” renews my faith in people. I hope you are successful beyond your wildest dreams!

  9. Pingback: We Interrupt This Program… | The Siren's Tale

  10. Pingback: Christmas Time Was Here. | The Siren's Tale

  11. This is so exciting Caitlin!! I am truly happy for you. Realizing what you want out of life and then having the guts to go for it is a remarkable and wonderful thing! Can’t wait to hear more as plans become further realized! 🙂
    Kenley

  12. Pingback: Recipe: Homemade Pretzel Bread. | The Siren's Tale

  13. Pingback: The Real Lessons of Graduate School. | The Siren's Tale

  14. Pingback: Take Me Back to the Start. | The Siren's Tale

  15. Pingback: Adventures in Canning. | The Siren's Tale

  16. Pingback: Happy Homesteading Giveaway! | The Siren's Tale

  17. Pingback: Straight From the Readers’ Mouths. | The Siren's Tale

  18. Pingback: Saying Goodbye to Living Alone. | The Siren's Tale

  19. Pingback: Just Sheepin’ Around. | The Siren's Tale

  20. Pingback: Learning to Grow Your Own. | The Siren's Tale

  21. Pingback: Gratitude Lately. | The Siren's Tale

  22. Pingback: Small Shops, Big Hearts {Introduction}. | The Siren's Tale

  23. Pingback: Making Lemonade in Life. | The Siren's Tale

  24. I feel like we have so much in common. So exciting this whole farm goal – it is super inspiring! We must collaborate on a local food, farming, awesomeness post soon!

    • LOL it’s funny you say that — I actually discovered you and your blog through Eileen at Leaner by the Lake. She followed me on IG for a few days, and instantly left a comment saying I needed to be friends with you because we share so much in common 🙂

      And collaboration on a local food / farming / everything awesome post sounds amazing!

  25. Caitlin, I’m stumbling through some of your older posts since just “meeting” you last week, and I’m so excited to hear about this. Little known fact that I just quit my job yesterday after admitting the same thing to myself, God, my husband, my family and loved ones, a Christian counselor, and everyone under the sun! While I would LOVE to start a farm, that’s not in the cards for my husband and I right now, but I am taking a huge leap of faith into doing something I love and I can’t wait to see what Jesus does with it all. So exciting and I loved reading this!

    • I have so much respect for you.. I dream of the day I can quit my job to do the same (as of now, I’m the breadwinner – so that’s a no no!)

      It’s hard when you know your calling but can’t commit to it yet. I’m so happy for you, and hope that your journey is a wonderful one!

  26. Pingback: Growing Your Own Food & Every Mistake in the Book. | The Siren's Tale

  27. Pingback: Recipe: Homemade Pretzel Bread. | belong with wildflowers

  28. Pingback: Happy Homesteading Giveaway! | belong with wildflowers

  29. Pingback: Just Sheepin’ Around. | belong with wildflowers

  30. Pingback: Making Lemonade in Life. | belong with wildflowers

  31. Pingback: Take Me Back to the Start. | belong with wildflowers

  32. Pingback: Gratitude Lately. | belong with wildflowers

  33. Pingback: Christmas Time Was Here. | belong with wildflowers

Time to share a tale of your own...

