{2013} Year in Review.

This year has had its ups, downs, and in betweens, as any year will. However, this year sits prominently in my heart. Despite my complaints to family members that I’m “over” my twenties (aka: a decade of self-analytical growth), I’m actually very thankful for all the growth and learning.

When I look back to the end of 2012, I was quite a different lady. A lady once filled with frustration and emptiness has slowly evolved into one of passion, hope, and gratitude, eager to greet each day no matter what unfolds.

It’s amazing what one simple year of growth and self-reflection can do.

bestbook

"Songs of Willow Frost" by Jamie Ford

“Songs of Willow Frost” by Jamie Ford
{click for book review}

bestdiy

DIY Day of the Dead Halloween Wreath from The Siren's Tale

DIY Day of the Dead Wreath
{click for tutorial}

bestgratitude

double rainbow

Double rainbows & nature’s resting spots
{click for post}

bestphotography

campfire

Nature is Necessity
{click for post}

bestrecipe

healthy italian turkey soup

Healthy Italian Turkey Soup
{click for recipe}

bestmoments

January – Realizing my love for writing
February – Learning lessons from college students
March – Getting Freshly Pressed
April – Facing the Boston Marathon Bombing
May – Embracing my introversion
June – Exploring my love of books
July – Realizing and admitting dreams of farming
August – Anniversary trip to Virginia
September – Learning to laugh at myself
October – Strengthening friendship through facing the unknown
November – Getting comfortable with the realities of blogging
December – Greeting 30 with my guy

besttales

Tale of Laughter… Charging by the Hour
Tale of Life… Enough
Tale of Love… When Fates Collide
Tale of the Times… Insight from Tragedy

Happiest of New Year’s to all of you. May your New Year’s Eve be filled with excitement and promise, and may the New Year bring you peace, happiness, and adventure!

What was the best part of your 2013?
What part of 2013 will you miss?

13 responses to “{2013} Year in Review.

  1. You have had a great year! Happy New Year! I hope that 2014 is filled with good health, happiness and prosperity!

    Connie 🙂

    • I’m always thankful for another year 🙂 With so many loved ones passing away at various ages through the years, I try hard to focus on being grateful every day – even the mundane ones!

      Thank you so much for your well wishes in the new year. Right back at you! 🙂

  2. Love this & wish I was patient enough to create my own year in review! ha! I’m going to check out your book rec — always looking for those!

    • Thank you! This is the first year I’ve done a review simply because I never had the time before. It’s time-consuming, but it was a lot of fun to travel back through the year and see what’s happened blog-wise. It also reminded me to blog a lot more often and keep my memories preserved!

      I hope you enjoy the book recommendations. Nothing like a good book to start the new year! Best wishes for 2014 to both of you 🙂

  3. It really is amazing to look back and see how your life can change so much in one year! It’s strange, a year goes by fast and yet a lot happens within that time! And man…that soup actually looks fantastic…or maybe I’m just freezing cold so I’m in a “soup” mood…

  4. You are really in a perfect frame of mind to start the New Year, looking forward after looking back~I know you are passionate about the changes you have made and I’m looking forward to hearing and seeing how the future unfolds for you!
    Jenna

  5. Love this and may have to use your idea for my best of the year too…. just so glad to be able to fallow you into the new year… thanks as always for our friendship and Happy New Year

  6. I hope that you have a lovely 2014, Caitlin! Thanks for the summary post – I’m trying to catch up on so many things I’ve missed.

  7. I love the way you sorted through your favorites in this post! The best of the best. Looks like a wonderful 2013! I hope your 2014 is even better! 🙂

  8. This is such a great review of your year and the memories you’ve captured on the blog! Happy New Year!

  9. What a cool round up! It’s great to reflect on the past year and take a look at how you’ve grown or what you want to improve on. I’m trying to be healthier in the new year (like everyone else haha). But from more of an overall wellness standpoint not just to lose weight. More of a lifestyle shift!

    PS – Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • I’m lined up right behind you on the healthy category 🙂 I focused on weight loss for the 2nd half of 2013, but would really like to focus on overall health (like you) in 2014. Mind, body, soul health 🙂

      Cheers to 2014! Thank you for stopping by.

Time to share a tale of your own...

