Recipe: Crockpot Hearty Chili.

During the colder months of the year, who doesn’t crave soups and stews? The thickness of the meal sticks to your ribs and warms you from the inside out, no matter how blustery the day outside is.

And when said soup or stew is thrown into a crockpot and forgotten about until meal time? Well, then you’ve truly reached winter nirvana.

Recipe: Crockpot Hearty Chili / from TheSirensTale.com

Crockpot Hearty Chili

Ingredients:
– 1 lb. ground turkey (or your meat of choice)
– 1 yellow onion, chopped
– 1 green pepper, chopped
– 2 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
– 2 cans cannellini beans, drained
– 2 cans (28 – 32oz.) diced tomatoes
– 1 can (4 oz.) diced green chiles, drained
– 1 jalapeño, diced
– 1 tsp. oregano
– 1 tsp. cumin
– 1 tsp. salt
– 1 tsp. pepper
– 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

For garnish:
– Green onions
– Sour cream

Directions:
1. Turn the crockpot on high. Cook ground turkey, onion and green pepper in 2 Tbs. of olive oil until turkey is no longer pink and vegetables begin to soften. {This takes roughly 30 minutes, or you can complete this step on your stove-top and transfer the mixture into the crockpot.}
2. Turn the crockpot down to low. Stir in beans, tomatoes, green chiles, jalapeño, and all spices until well blended. Cook for 4-5 hours on low.
3. Serve chili topped with green onions or sour cream!

14 responses to “Recipe: Crockpot Hearty Chili.

  1. that looks amazing! i will be making this soon!

  2. I just realized this weekend that I haven’t made chili yet this season. I need to get on it!

  3. I mentioned this to my son just yesterday and he said he thought chili season is almost over. I think it’s just begun!

  4. Crockpots are just THE BEST when it comes to Fall and Winter dishes. This reminds me of a very similar crockpot turkey chili that my boyfriend has been asking for! Yours looks so good!

  5. I love simple it seems. Just toss it in the pot and let it go and smell that awesome aroma through the house!

  6. Oh my goodness, this sounds SUPER good!!! I adore my crockpot and all it makes. 🙂

  7. Oh wow…. our Winter months are coming up soon… and I just know my houseful of beings are going to love this!!! Thanks for the share *heart*

Time to share a tale of your own...

