Under A White Quilt.

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”
– Lewis Carroll

Tall Trees / from TheSirensTale.com

Winter Birds / from TheSirensTale.com

Branch Covered Views / from TheSirensTale.com

Trees in Focus / from TheSirensTale.com

Snow Storm / from TheSirensTale.com

Ello Birdie / from TheSirensTale.com

39 responses to “Under A White Quilt.

  1. This is gorgeous!!! I’m jealous of your snow and I’m impressed by the way you captured it!

    • Thank you, Susannah! I’m quite the winter grinch (I grew up and have been living most my life in New England, brr!). I’ve been trying to challenge myself to embrace the winter and capture moments that are mean something to me. It’s not always easy, but I try to just focus on the birds and sunshine!

  2. Beautiful photos, Caitlin! I love how yuo captured the white snow with the contrast of the red bird (I’m guessing cardinal).

    • Thank you, Jessica! Yes, that is a little cardinal. We’re pretty lucky that these lovely ladies (and gents) have taken residence in our bird-seed-filled tree out front! Not only are they beautiful and fun to watch, but their colors contrast with the icy cold white that surrounds them, making winter seem beautiful.

  3. Beautiful! I love all the shots, especially the first and the first cardinal shot.

  4. gorgeous photos – love that cardinal and that poem is awesome!

  5. How beautiful. This is so special to me because it’s so different than what I get to see. I love the little red bird. We don’t see those here where I live. My mom and dad got a vaction home in Arkansas and she sends me pictures of the red birds. I’m taken by them.

    • Tracie, I was just thinking about you when it comes to weather. On my drive to work this morning, they were talking about how bad the heat and drought are in California right now. This seems crazy because on the East Coast we are trudging forward through a polar vortex and snowstorms. Mother Nature is so interesting! I’m hoping that some of the cold, wet weather heads West soon to help you all out πŸ™‚

      That’s so lovely about your Mom and Dad. I imagine Arkansas is beautiful and has gorgeous nature surroundings!

  6. Beautiful photos and what a lovely quote. I love the idea of the white quilt. πŸ™‚

  7. I so love Lewis Carroll! Beautiful photo as well.

  8. aaaww i’ve never touched snow. unless you count when it hails like maybe once a year during winter here

  9. Hi Caitlin. Your photographs are beautiful! The Cardinal is my favorite bird and seeing your photo’s this morning put a smile on me! Thank you for visiting my blog and I’ll keep in touch with yours. πŸ™‚

  10. Absolutely beautiful! Love the birdie in the snow.

  11. I always love snow shadows. Beautiful image.

  12. I love the shots you got of the cardinal!

  13. Beautiful pics! πŸ™‚ x

  14. I love the look of birds in the snow.

  15. these are such beautiful, snowy shots…! wow πŸ™‚

  16. What beautiful images you captured! This winter does seem extremely bitter, but as you have captured with your camera, there is beauty in everything.

  17. Pingback: Gratitude Lately. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

