Recipe: Homemade Pretzel Bread.

Homemade Pretzel Bread Recipe / from TheSirensTale.com

This year is all about practice, practice, practice. While my beau and I are in the saving and waiting process to buy a farm house and land, I am spending all my free time learning the new ways of my soon-to-be homesteading lifestyle.

Looking over my long list of homesteading ‘to learn’s‘, I decided to start with baking bread from scratch. Store-bought breads are typically filled with preservatives and ingredients I can’t pronounce, despite a graduate degree.

Save money, bake from scratch, and avoid frightening additives? Yes, please!

Homemade Pretzel Bread / from TheSirensTale.com

Homemade Pretzel Bread
Yields: 2 loaves
Recipe adapted from Fleischmann’s Bread World

Ingredients:
– 1 cup almond milk
– 2 Tbs. butter
– 2 Tbs. brown sugar
– 1 envelope yeast
– 2 tsp. sea salt
– 3 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

For boiling solution:
– 1 gallon water
– 1/2 cup baking soda

For egg wash:
– 1 egg
– 1 teaspoon water

Directions:
1. Heat milk and butter in microwave until warm (100° to 110°F).
2. Combine heated milk and butter with yeast and brown sugar in a large bowl. Stir in salt and 2 cups flour; mix with wooden spoon for 3 minutes.
3. Add the remaining flour until a soft dough forms. Knead on floured surface 8 to 10 minutes.
4. Place in a greased bowl, cover and let rise for 1 hour.
5. When dough has risen, preheat oven to 400°F.
6. Bring ‘boiling solution’ to a boil over high heat. Punch down dough and divide into 2 loaves. Boil each loaf for two minutes; one minute per loaf side.
7. Remove loaves from water and place on greased baking sheet.
8. Combine egg wash and brush the top of the loaves. Cut an X into the top of the loaves.
9. Bake for 15 minutes at 400°F, then reduce the temperature to 350°F and bake another 10 to 12 minutes until the loaves are evenly browned. Remove loaves from pan and cool on a wire rack.

45 responses to “Recipe: Homemade Pretzel Bread.

  1. Yum, Yum, Yum!! We are big fans of baking our own bread and yet I haven’t done a pretzel dough yet (for either bread or a soft pretzel). You’re helping to inspire me! 🙂
    Kenley

  2. This sounds so good!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. oh my heavens. This looks amazing! Perhaps I should try. perhaps. We’ll have to see! xo

  4. Once upon a time, I baked bread, which did not turn out well, but I enjoyed the experience nonetheless. I like that blue check cloth in your pictures. Good luck with the homesteading practice.

  5. Wish there was a love button!

  6. Pretzel rolls/bread always seemed like a huge task. this looks so easy! i cant wait to try

  7. Saving this for later… I love a pretzel bread roll with a slice of swiss cheese melted on it for a snack!

  8. That looks great! I’m not a fan of almond milk though.

  9. pretzel bread makes EVERYTHING better – that looks marvelous! thanks for the recipe, chica~

  10. i can bake a basic white bread, no recipe needed, BUT it’s now bad for me… i need to go to the wellness store to buy some healthy flours, but they are like 3 times the price of regular flour. but for a special occasion i might give it a go

    • Hey there! I haven’t used white, bleached flour in over a year and I’ve found that there’s plenty of opportunities to purchase other flours without a huge price increase. I’d check your local market or discount market for wheat flour, which is usually very cheap. You can also look for unbleached all purpose flour, or bread flour. Depending on the prices of different grains and nuts out where you live, you can also grind your own flour from almonds, oats, etc. Best of luck in your flour search! 🙂

      • lol i gave up on the flour search already! i just buy bread that’s good food me and will only bake my bread when we have a braai. we do not have ‘discount’ stores around here! discount does not exist. we have to buy such things at the Wellness stores and they are heaps expensive!!!!

        • That’s terrible! I’m sorry to hear that – I’ve never lived or traveled to an area that doesn’t offer discount markets. That’s no es bueno!

          • such is life, that’s how it is here. the interest has gone up. in fact my monthly grocery budget is 2k which i spent on saturday but i didn’t even get everything i needed! the prices of something products have increased by 30 to 40%

  11. That looks so delicious! I’ve always been so afraid of baking my own bread… something about having to use yeast has just always intimidated me…

  12. I love pretzel rolls, I bet homemade is divine! I’m putting this on my bucket list for March! Thanks Caitlin! Pinned too 🙂

  13. Gosh that looks good! I make my own bread too and nothing can beat a freshly baked loaf hot out of the oven.

  14. This looks soooo yummy! I love that you are starting to learn homesteading skills while saving up to buy a farmhouse. I still haven’t mastered bread making, but I like to make pizza dough and foccacia bread 🙂

    • Thank you, Tammy. With my heart so dedicated to farming and homesteading, it’s difficult going to the 9-5 daily and living a life that no longer “fits” me. I figured sprinkling in homesteading skills over the next year should make it fly by (hopefully!)

      Foccacia is one my list of breads to try! Is it difficult to make?

  15. Five or so years ago I bought a Bosch mixer and a wheat grinder and started making fresh bread for my family. Nothing…NOthing like having five fresh loaves baking in the oven right? Store bought bread is just so….yuck…after having had the real thing. I’ve never heard of pretzel bread though! Looks so yum, thanks for posting your process here! 🙂

    • Cassandra, I couldn’t agree more! Store bought bread tastes so… empty now. I can’t explain it, but there’s an odd, empty/stale taste to it. I adore having fresh bread from the oven and knowing every single ingredient I’ve put into it.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  16. I’ve made soft pretzels before and they weren’t that difficult so I bet I could make this too!

  17. Good for you on the homemade bread! I’ve been making my own bread for over thirty years (omg, has it really been that long???), both whole wheat and white, and I recently incorporated ground flax seed to up the fibre. It feels good to know nothing goes into it that you don’t want or need. I usually make 7-8 loaves at a time.

    I’m loving your future farming and homesteading plans. How exciting, Caitlin, and what a departure for you! Sounds like a possible book could come out of it. 🙂

    • How do you like ground flax in your bread? I’ve been thinking about adding it into some of my wheat/multigrain breads, but wasn’t sure how it would come out.

      Thanks for the kind wishes on my adventure now and in the future. I can only imagine what I’ll see, do, and conquer in the next few years while chasing these dreams. I can’t wait for every second of it 🙂

  18. Pingback: Adventures in Canning. | The Siren's Tale

  19. Pingback: The Organized Life, March Paint Bucket | the Painted Apron

  20. Pingback: Recipe: Homemade Rosemary & Basil Vegan Focaccia Bread. | The Siren's Tale

  21. Pingback: Instagram, Revealed. | The Siren's Tale

  22. Pingback: Recipe: Homemade Rosemary & Basil Vegan Focaccia Bread. | belong with wildflowers

Time to share a tale of your own...

