Touches of Spring, Revisited.

“There is always music amongst the trees in the garden, but our hearts must be very quiet to hear it.”
– Minnie Aumonier

A year ago, I posted Touches of Spring after visiting a local botanical center. Although I usually seek new places to visit every year, the coldness of this winter has me craving warmth, sunshine, and nature. A return visit was desperately needed.

I love looking back to earlier posts, before I receivedΒ an amazing DSLR and prior to my humble attempts to learn manual shooting. It reminds me that growth and evolution are always possible. Just as I have {slowly} evolved in photography, the seasons will evolve soon and spring will come to warm us all.

Botanical Center / from TheSirensTale.com

Tree with Eyes / from TheSirensTale.com

Botany & Sunshine / from TheSirensTale.com

Antique Trunks & Plants / from TheSirensTale.com

Hobbit Hole / from TheSirensTale.com

Ivy on Trellis / from TheSirensTale.com

Radical Botany / from TheSirensTale.com

Succulents / from TheSirensTale.com

30 responses to “Touches of Spring, Revisited.

  1. what a lovely garden and phtotos!! You do it justice. I’m craving this too after all the grey damp of our winter.

  2. Heavens! We are neighbors! I live very close to this very spot. What a small world. And your photos do it justice!

    • That’s so cool that you live so close to the botanical center! I live about a 45 minute drive away in MA. It’s so awesome having the entire park so close to us because it’s a beauty. I adore the zoo and museum there too!

  3. I love botanical gardens, and you picked out such cute succulents!

  4. Lovely! We’ve had such nice weather in CA lately, it’s easy to take it for granted after a while. This was a good reminder to be grateful for it instead. πŸ™‚

  5. love that ‘arch’. You’d love CT, even winter is sunny

  6. Love these shots! Nice to feel a little warmth, even if it’s just through my monitor. I’m obsessed with succulents and love the last shot. My husband got me some for Valentine’s Day, and I’ve been deathly paranoid of killing them . . . but I’ve read you should basically water them as little as possible and ignore them. That? That I can do.

  7. gorgeous shots – I can’t wait for spring! I also can’t wait to get back in touch with my photography and I think you just inspired me to jump the invisible hurdle that’s holding me back. I once used manual and loved it…but not lately. I need to get back to it!

    • Thank you, Allie! I’m so glad you feel inspired to get back into photography πŸ™‚ Sometimes I’m tempted to switch to automatic just to cut down on the number of shots I take before the right one comes, but then I remember that manual means it’s entirely what I’m creating. And that’s fun (despite the added steps!)

      Can’t wait to see more of your photography πŸ™‚

  8. Such a beautiful set! Good job with those photos! Nature is the perfect model! πŸ™‚

  9. Wow – this is a beautiful botanical center – the perfect spot for a touch of spring! You took some beautiful photos!

  10. It’s close to freezing and drizzling here this morning, so I love this post right now. the shot with the sunlight coming through (I have no idea what kind of plants those are) and the circular arch are my faves.

    Hope to see more of your pics soon, Caitlin.

  11. What pretty photos! I really like that old trunk in the garden. I have one that looks pretty similar to that! But it’s in my living room as a coffee table πŸ™‚ The succulents in the last photo are lovely as well. Can’t wait til spring is in full swing!

  12. I’m a sucker for succulents! They make me think of warm places. πŸ™‚

  13. I love the fact that we can grow and learn. Sometimes I get frustrated that I don’t seem to be advancing as quickly as I would like, but there’s always tomorrow!

  14. Pingback: Month in Review {March}. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

