Instagram, Revealed.

{Disclaimer: This blog post is solely to poke fun at myself. It is not to put down any Instagrammers in any way. I fully support self-expression in any form!}

Many of my tried and true blog readers know this, but I love pinpointing trends in the blogosphere. I’m not talking about obvious trends such as ‘Outfit of the Day’ or ‘Friday Favorites’ posts, just general themes that pop up in my blog reader over the month.

Lately I’ve noticed a big fuss about Instagram. How it’s tricked all of us into believing we are professional photographers. How people aren’t being honest in their self-representation. How there’s a massive influx of snapshots featuring food and feet (guilty, party of one, right here!)

After seeing several bloggers {Our City LightsThe Bold ItalicHeart & HabitThe Stir} write ‘context behind Instagram’ posts, I knew I couldn’t resist. After all, I’m big a supporter of blogging authentically, and who doesn’t love a good chuckle to even out their week?

IG Truth 1 / from TheSirensTale.com

Caption: Little miss sunshine (who rarely allows her photo to be taken!) #dogs #dogsofinstagram #bestanimal”

Context: This photo took 15 minutes to take. Count ’em… f-i-f-t-e-e-n. This was a great use of limited time, all to capture a sub-par picture of this lovely lady. By the time I captured “the moment”, it was gone and I walked away muttering about stubborn pups.

IG Truth 2 / from TheSirensTale.com

Caption:Friday lunch break with a bit of nature and the Boston skyline. #nature #city #skyline #boston”

Context: After driving around aimlessly on my lunch break, I stopped for .0034 seconds to take this shot. My car barely recognized it was in ‘park’ before I was reversing out of the spot to speed back to work. Obviously I’ve mastered living in the moment.

IG Truth 3 / from TheSirensTale.com

Caption: Tough times never last, but tough people do. – Robert H Schuller #strength”

Context: I didn’t have a random depresso selfie session, fear not! I was actually pulling at my hair to see my roots and snapping pictures to assess if it was time to re-color. (I’ve now found out they have this great invention called a mirror.)

IG Truth 4 / from TheSirensTale.com

Caption: Hello new daily reminder 🙂 #motivation #quotes#whiteboard #dailyreminder”

Context: Lots of daily motivation on my white board, with a side of angry comments. Atop the motivational quote sits an ‘assholes’ comment about a bill company – lovingly blurred to hide the fury.

IG Truth 5 / from TheSirensTale.com

Caption: Since the start of January, I’ve been baking bread every weekend to practice homesteading. So far we’ve tried pretzel bread, english muffin bread, and this weekend: buttermilk honey bread. There’s nothing quite like the smell of freshly baked bread coming from the oven! #bread #baking #homesteading #fromscratch”

Context: This bread was piping hot from the oven. Ouch, ouch, and ouch! I don’t recommend burning your fingertips off, all for the love of Instagram. Besides, it makes buttering your bread pretty difficult afterwards.

On a closing note, don’t forget to follow me on Instagram where “truths” are revealed and contexts are hidden! At minimum, you’ll see lots of puppy faces and seedling growth. How exciting.

Do you use Instagram?
Do you have silly stories behind your photographs?

46 responses to “Instagram, Revealed.

  1. Ha ha! So true… People can’t eat without taking a shot of their plate haha. Absolutely love depresso selfies! 😀 Really nice post!

    • Thank you! While I’m all about trying to capture a good picture… I also have to laugh at how hard many of us try to document even the silliest moments in life (and they’re seen as ‘perfect’!) Thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. Um, this is the best! I’m totally guilty of so many of these. Also, now I really want to try bread baking!! I’m heading to Instagram next to follow along with your adventures!

    • IG always makes me laugh! Sometimes I look back at my pictures and think ‘Really Caitlin?! That is ridiculous.’ Haha. But then again, it’s always good to laugh at yourself!

      You should definitely bake some bread… it makes the home smell delicious 🙂

  3. Ha! Pictures never tell the whole story, even without digital filters.

  4. now you have me curious about the other IG bloggers you share. I wonder if I should do a post on IG, I’m a fanatic and I do have some truths to share;) btw, I ran out of photo storage space on Word P. I’m wondering if I should pay now. Do you have any advice….send me a message if you get a change. xo

    • You definitely should do a post on IG pictures and some stories behind them 🙂 It’s so fun because there’s so much that goes on behind the lens. I’ll send you an email in the morning with some advice on that. Thank you for thinking of me to ask!

  5. Definitely guilty of the food and feet shots! I’m so glad you shared the stories behind your photos, Caitlin. Makes them even more special.

  6. hahaha–I don’t have instagram. Angel does, though…and I don’t really understand his strategy, if he has any. I think he mostly posts pictures of our cat…and for SURE he does not spend a lot of time capturing the perfect shot. I’ve scrolled through his feed, the pictures are horrible and he doesn’t care.

    • Lots of cat pictures? That sounds like a fantastic IG! (I post way, way too many pictures of my pets). That’s a funny story about Angel… sounds like a strategy that needs to be analyzed and observed to be figured out, haha.

  7. Oven mitts are your friends

  8. I do not use Instagram. I feel like I am the only person left on the planet who doesn’t. I would normally, NEVER do this, but since you asked if I had silly stories while taking photos… *cough* http://wp.me/p4hsLd-8n

    That was actually all an experiment in playing around with speed settings while taking photos of the cats…and then I later used the messed up photos to make a goofy post. It still makes me laugh.

    Love your comment on living in the moment! 😀

  9. I am still not on the instagram train yet… but I’m all about taking photos of what I’m eating and putting them on the blog – after all I love seeing photos of food so I’m sure other people do too – haha 🙂

  10. I’m so out of the loop. Facebook, instagrams, my daughter is into it all. I made it into fb then decided I so didn’t want to hear what people ate for breakfast or whether they had a head cold or a crush!! But I do like the dog photo and the loaf of bread looks like work of art and I love silly stories. I’m a blogoholic now.

    • There’s so much out there on the internet that can just suck you in! I never thought I’d be a big Instagrammer, but I end up spending far too much time on the site, scrolling through the pictures haha.

      Thanks for the compliments on my photos!

  11. This is such a good idea Caitlin, love it! Too funny 🙂

  12. Man, I love Instagram — but it does tend to put a “rosy filter” on life, literally and metaphorically, which can bring you down. I read an interesting piece that threw it in with Facebook and the carefully-curated images we present to the world, and I always try to remember that behind every smiling photo is one with a dog who won’t sit still, a child who burst into tears, an ice cream cone that got dropped seconds later, etc.

    I don’t mean that in a negative way, though, and I certainly don’t delight in that happening to others! 🙂 I just mean that nothing and no one and no situation is perfect — we just have to enjoy the moment and be happy with what we have ourselves. 🙂 I definitely try to do that, though it can be hard. And I have tons of “misfires” that go into most every one of my Instagram shots!

    • I adore IG too 🙂 I just think some things are too silly not to laugh about. I’ll post a picture of something and get great comments from awesome people, and then I think ‘if only they knew what was going on behind the camera’. It was a fun post to create 🙂

      I think the best part about life is all the moments we can capture. The good, the bad, the ugly, the in between. The dropped ice cream cone, or the cone perfectly swirled. In the end, it’s all life and it’s all beautiful. Thanks so much for the comment!

  13. I’m working toward starting an Instagram account. I have it setup, I think…but now I need to download the app to use it from my laptop because I prefer the bigger screen and working in my office. I don’t do much with social media at this point, but Instagram and Pinterest sound like they could be “my thang” since they are photo based. Enjoyed your post.:)

    • Because of my blog, I’m knee-deep in social media (FB, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, etc.). I can’t say it’s my favorite part of blogging, but it’s also something I told myself I’d stick to (what a goal haha)!

      Instagram is my favorite social media because I adore photography. If you’re into it, I think IG would be up your alley.

      • Thanks for the vote. You would know better than me! I don’t know if I can blog to the degree that requires knee deep social media, but I respect those who can! Well done!

  14. This is an interesting post to get a few bits of fun thrown in!

  15. This is an amazing post. I love how every instagram user *knows* how silly/fake it can be – we’re all guilty of putting that lovely insta-spin on our lives. But as long as we’re all in it together, right?! I love instagram – I love the pretty & positive mark it puts on everything, like a box full of only-happy thoughts that will end up defining your memories. Thanks for the authentic post!!

    http://6000milestohome.blogspot.com

    • So, so true Allie! I think one of the reasons I love IG is because it *does* push you to see the good in life and days. In “real” life (or offline life), we all face messes daily. Sometimes it’s nice to just cruise (or scroll) through the good in life and the beauty that’s out there 🙂

  16. I don’t have a smartphone, so no instagram for me, but I love the behind-the-scenes look into your pictures! That is a pretty Boston skyline 🙂

    • Thank you Amanda 🙂 Be glad you haven’t fallen into the dark social media hole that is available at every smart phone user’s fingertips, haha. At least once a day I wonder if I should go back to an older phone and disconnect from all the notifications, tweets, buzzes, and beeps.

      Boston has such a beautiful skyline 🙂 I’m pretty lucky because the skyline is about a two minute drive from my work. On days I can actually stay and enjoy the view, it’s gorgeous!

  17. Pingback: Love List April 14, 2014 | Stardust

  18. I have an instagram account but rarely, and I mean rarely use it. Not sure I get the whole attraction, or know how to use it. Can you do more with your pics than use different filters?

    • You can’t do a whole lot more than take photos, use filters, and make a collage. (And you can only make a collage if you download an additional Instagram app that allows this.)

      I do like that some people “mini-blog” on Instagram and share parts of their day, dreams, challenges, etc. In the end, it’s just another boredom buster!

  19. I would love to see the non appropriate remark in the white board. That what I’m always looking for in a picture.

  20. Pingback: Blogs I Heart | Money, Business, Fashion + Love Advice | Danielle Dowling

  21. A well written and fun post indeed! Your humor shows originality!

  22. I like that people’s online photos are magical. I think it reminds us all to find magic in the mundane.

  23. Pingback: {April} Month in Review. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

