Making Lemonade in Life.

They say when life hands you lemons, you should make lemonade. Following this life guideline, it didn’t take long to re-plan an anniversary celebration after we had to cancel our return trip to Vermont.

One of the best parts of my relationship with Michael is the ability to have fun: anywhere, anytime, anyhow. Whether we’re making each other snort with laughter over a TV show after work, or we’re rendezvousing around on an adventurous week-long getaway, we make sure to laugh and have fun each step of the way.

Solar Powered Birds / from TheSirensTale.com

Yellow Barn House / from TheSirensTale.com

Despite the cold temperatures at the beginning of April, we trekked two hours north to a farm animal sanctuary with hopes of finding less tourists in the off-season. To my absolute delight, we were only accompanied by another couple and one small family on the farm.

Heading down to the sheep barn, I felt a kick in my step as my guy laughed alongside me about my farm-loving ways. It was as if the sheep barn was ours; without another soul in sight, we were able to settle down for a solid hour to have a chat and pet. (After all, I had to fill my sheep-watching quota of the week.)

Adorable Sheep Face / from TheSirensTale.com

Pull the Wool Over Your Eyes / from TheSirensTale.com

Baby Lamb / from TheSirensTale.com

Anniversary Shot / from TheSirensTale.com

After being pulled away from my farm favorite, we went to spend some time with cows nearby. The cows must have noticed we were celebrating our anniversary; they did their best to show-off tricks and tips in ode of mating season. Thanks for the hilarious show, farm cows.

Mating Season Cows / from TheSirensTale.com

Beautiful Bull / from TheSirensTale.com

My favorite part of the trip was all the moments woven between visiting the farm animals.

Every quiet conversation shared intimately of a future to come, a farm life to call our own, and dreams to hang your hat on. Each smile and knowing glance shared about a hopeful future and plans on the horizon. Each idea passed between two people, slowly being sculpted and shaped like sea glass in the tides, waiting to be perfected.

We’re so thankful to share another year with healthy bodies to carry us on adventures; for healthy hearts that allow us to share and be open; and for healthy minds that remind each other every moment is a blessing.

Do you celebrate any anniversaries (romantic or otherwise)?
What is your favorite way to celebrate anniversaries?

{shared on the Jack of All Trades link-up}

44 responses to “Making Lemonade in Life.

  1. LOVE. THIS. ! I smiled through the whole post. So happy for you both. And so much of this post reminded me of what I share with my husband. Sharing your life and future dreams with your best friend — there is nothing better!! Happiest of Anniversaries! 🙂
    Jess

    • Aww, thanks Jess 🙂 That is so wonderful to hear about your relationship. It really brings me so much happiness to hear about other people’s healthy relationships and the way they bond. Thank goodness for partners who are best friends 🙂

  2. Being able to have fun together anytime, anywhere, anyhow is a great trait!! And I do like celebrating anniversaries. Our trip to Chicago last week was our 3rd anniversary trip…only a couple months late. 🙂

    • Chicago seems like such a fun place to take a trip! Our anniversary was at the end of February, we planned on going to Vermont in March, and ended up with a day trip in April. Even though it was delayed, a celebration is always fun 🙂 Glad to know we’re not the only ones who are late to celebrate their anniversary!

  3. I absolutely love reading you each time… I feel the same way with my boyfriend, this is so precious!

  4. so delightful!!! the photos too, are great! Happy Anniversary!

  5. How peaceful and lovely. I, too, smiled throughout! Happy Anniversary and thank you for sharing. 🙂

  6. I love that you spent your anniversary on an animal farm! Sounds like something my man and I would do – so sweet! We celebrate 2 anniversaries each year, our marriage and the day we met – which is this Friday! 🙂 xo

    • We absolutely love spending time on farms 🙂 It’s so interesting to learn more about our future, the animals, the challenges, and first-hand experience from farmers.

      I’m looking forward to when I’m married so I can wiggle out 2 anniversaries a year too 🙂 I hope you both have a wonderful anniversary today!

  7. What a delightful post, Caitlin! I thoroughly enjoyed your update and the images are just lovely!

    We celebrate our birthdays and our wedding anniversary. We have been known to celebrate our anniversary a few months later when the weather is cooler. My favorite anniversary was a trip to Colonial Williamsburg…but I must say they are all special – it’s a joy to pass each year with the same man – it really gets better the longer we’re together, though it’s never been bad. It’s just that the comfort and familiarity give way to even more romance and deeper love. The early years have nothing on the current love – mmmmhhh – like fine wine – better all the time – and the bumps in the road are just that – the expected potholes life inevitably presents. 🙂

    Hope you are having a great week!
    eg

  8. You guys are so sweet! I love that you two can have fun anywhere. My husband and I are the same- it’s special, isn’t it?! We have a saying when things get tough (or not how we planned) – “bottom of a well” – just like, doesn’t matter if we were at a bottom of a well together, as long as we have each other. I’m so glad you guys had a great time! The sheep!!!!! Oh my gosh – love!!!

    • Aww, thank you 🙂 It’s such a special bond to have, and one that will be so useful as the years go on. When I was younger I used to feel baffled by people who met, married, and remained married for 50+ years. I always thought – how stale, how boring. Now knowing that relationships can be friendships filled with fun, my mindset has changed a lot 🙂

      I love the “bottom of a well” phrase, that’s so perfect! We usually use the phrase “together in a cardboard box” because we feel like as long as we have each other, we could live in a cardboard box and still have fun!

  9. But what if we don’t like lemonade??? (I know, I know, it’s a metaphor or something)

  10. Just found you from A Harvest of Blessing’s link up and LOVE that you love farms and homesteading! My husband and I live in NYC, and I dream of farms everyday. I know it’d be such a hard lifestyle, but there’s something so amazing about living off the land. It’s beautiful that you and your husband dream of having one of your own!

    • Hi Kim, thank you so much for stopping by! So glad you’ve liked what you’ve seen on the blog so far 🙂

      I couldn’t agree more with you about the lure to farming. Yes, it’s a hard lifestyle, and yes, it’s not for everyone. But for the people it IS made for? It’s perfection… it’s a long good day of working with your hands in the environment.

      Thanks so much for your sweet comment!

  11. Oooh, that little lamb is just precious!!! We usually just celebrate our anniversary by going out for supper since it’s in December and a week before Christmas when everything is so busy.

    • Oh my goodness Chantel, I wish I had thought to take a video of the baby lambs in the sheep barn! They were out of this world cute, all stepping on one another and competing for attention.

      That sounds like a lovely way to celebrate your anniversary 🙂 My guy’s birthday is just a few weeks before Christmas, so because of the busy season we usually do something casual. December’s a hectic month!

  12. Look at those cute little guys! I love this! What a fun date 🙂

  13. Such a sweet post and Happy Anniversary!! My husband and I have a similar relationship. 🙂 So lovely that you went to the farm animal sanctuary – the photos are adorable!

  14. What a perfect adventure.. and so beautiful written! I love your words ” slowly being sculpted and shaped like sea glass in the tides, waiting to be perfected ” that get the poet in me:) Just lovely! xx

  15. Happy Anniversary Caitlin, and it was fun reading your tale and dreaming of farm life along with you~I have been married forever, and it’s true, it just gets better, especially if you laugh together 🙂

  16. Happy Anniversary, Kaitlin. Such a beautiful post! Love the farm animals, the love, and the way you two seem to have the best things in life all figured out.

  17. That’s awesome. My hubs and I are like that. It’s one of my favorite things about our marriage.

  18. I love that you spent your anniversary at an farm animal sanctuary. So fun! Happy Anniversary!

    • It was so much fun! We try to visit farms at least 2-3 times a month, but this particular farm I had my eye on for the last several months. The anniversary definitely gave us the bump to travel 2 hours to see it finally!

      Thanks for the warm wishes 🙂

  19. {{I’m kinda crushin on that there yellow barn! It’s LOVELY!!}} And on my man…we celebrate twenty years of marriage this October. We don’t always celebrate anniversaries on time, with four kiddos and our little farm, we take the time off when we can to pause our world and spend a romantic weekend together, and it may happen in October or it may happen in January, but we do it every year as it is so, so important. You’re smart to start it now! Sounds like a perfect weekend 🙂

    • Isn’t it such a lovely barn? I was considering taking up permanent residency and just explaining to the farm owners that I live there now, haha.

      Wow, twenty years of marriage, that is amazing! I look up to couples who have stayed together through thick and thin, and through changes over the years. Thank you for sharing a bit of your story here, it’s beautiful!

      So glad that you two are able to still getaway for anniversaries, even with a home full of kids and love 🙂

  20. Ooo your photos are awesome and I now want a lamb 🙂

  21. Pingback: {April} Month in Review. | The Siren's Tale

Time to share a tale of your own...

