Women’s Hair: A Love Story.

Cancer. It’s one of the few words that can stop someone in their tracks, speechless and unsure of how to respond. That one little world holds such impact, hurt, fear, and doubt that the mere mention of the word results in cringes and unsure glances.

Sadly, it’s a word that comes into far too many of our lives, placing its effects on parents, loved ones, and community members.

Things Will Get Better / from TheSirensTale.com

I was first introduced to cancer through my heart and soul, my Nana. She was laid to rest after two years of battling advanced ovarian cancer. A few years later, I said goodbye to a close friend. After transplants, treatments, hospital stays, and endless tears, they were laid to rest at 26 years old after battling lymphoma.

Most recently, my world came to a screeching halt when my best friend received the diagnosis of a rare cancer, POEMS Syndrome. I watched as she struggled to put the pieces together, faced the fears of treatments and transplants, and met each battle with the strongest heart I’ve ever seen.

Courage + Vulnerability Quote / from TheSirensTale.com

Throughout all the side effects of cancer treatment, the greatest pain I’ve seen my loved ones face is losing their hair. As their hair fell out or thinned, their sense of identity, confidence, and pride began to waver. Strong, confident women suddenly transformed into women who uncomfortably pulled at their hair wrap, or begrudgingly pulled another baseball cap as low as it would allow.

Until the time actually comes, we never realize how important hair is to our mental well-being. According to the American Academy of Dermatology:

In quality-of-life studies, women experiencing hair loss reported a higher incidence of behavior that interfered with their daily lives, including a significant loss of self-esteem, being introverted, feeling less attractive and tense feelings in public places.

Wigsbuy Wig #1 / from TheSirensTale.com

Hair loss is a difficult for anyone to face, but for women it can be the ending of a love story. An ending to self-confidence, appreciation for your own beauty, and an end to the identity you’ve held for years.

Wigsbuy is a company that helps women suffering from hair loss. Whether the hair loss be from cancer or any other condition, Wigsbuy has a wide assortment and selection of wigs in different styles, lengths, and materials. This company offers wigs for all occasions as well: every day wigs, costume wigs, lace wigs, and celebrity wigs.

Wigsbuy offers support for their hair customers through providing wig care tips and hints, answering customers’ FAQ, and helping to find the right wig to fit your facial shape and structure. The company strips away the negative stigma of hair loss by offering wig solutions, and making sure their customers feel confident and secure throughout the process.

Wigsbuy Wig #3 / from TheSirensTale.com

I’ll never forget the day my Nana appeared with her new wig after months of hiding underneath a cap; her smile was so bright it could have lit up five states. Her confidence and strength were renewed, all from a simple wig.

Whether you decide to wear a wrap, buy a wig, or show off your new hairless ‘do, remember that you are strong and there are millions around the world standing in support behind you. You are beautiful, and that beauty is shown every day in your journey.

Have you or a loved one faced a tough medical situation?
How do you help support loved ones’ self-confidence through hard times?

{Disclosure: This post is sponsored by Wigsbuy. The views and opinions expressed are 100% my own.}

30 responses to “Women’s Hair: A Love Story.

  1. A woman’s hair has often been referred to as her “crowning glory”. A simple hairstyle change can dramatically alter your appearance, so losing your hair altogether is life changing.

    So sorry for your losses and experiences with cancer.

  2. My best friend just completed her last chemo yesterday. She is bald and has held her head high, although I know it is difficult. She has such a great attitude… she made a Bitstrips gravatar for her Facebook page – hairless, of course. I made her a poster… “Bald Chicks Rock”
    Thanks for remembering those who are fighting this battle! They are all warriors and tough ladies!

    • Ruth, I’m very sorry to hear about your best friend and will be saying prayers for her ❤

      Attitude really can make or break the experience. I saw my Nana fight tooth and nail to accept her diagnosis, and it slowly made her sicker and sicker. My best friend, who was recently diagnosed, has an attitude similar to your best friend — she's approaching the entire situation with a strong heart, laughter, and the strength to know it will all be okay in the end. It's amazing how our attitudes can completely change the circumstances and effects of those circumstances in our lives.

      So much love to all the warriors out there!

  3. I can’t even imagine how hard that would be. Bookmarking Wigsbuy for the future if I ever need it. I have a friend going through cancer right now, and it feels so powerless especially because she’s far away and there’s nothing I can do to help. She’s a fighter and she stands firm in her trust in God. But it’s hard to hear about what she’s going through and not to want to make it all go away right now. I try to remember that prayer is enough and that God is in control, but cancer is such a horrible disease.

    • Thanks for the kindness, Kim! When the company (Wigsbuy) contacted me, asking to include them in a post of mine, at first I was going to say no. But then I realized how this issue affects so many women, and many women in my own life! It’s taboo to talk about female hair loss, but it shouldn’t be. So many women in life suffer because of it.

      I am sending so much strength and faith to you and your friend. Especially in these situations, it’s difficult to let go and have faith in His plan. But, it all will work out as it should, and I hope she finds comfort in her friendships, love, and faith while fighting this hard battle.

  4. lovely post Caitlin! As one who never had “great” hair to begin I still can imagine how women must feel when that is taken from them as well as having to battle a terrible illness.

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s funny – my best friend used to complain about her hair a lot, with the issues that came with maintaining it and such. When she realized she was going to lose her hair during treatment, she was stopped in her tracks. Something that we take advantage of every day can really have a large impact in someone’s life when it’s taken away.

      I look forward to the day when she can grow back her hair + have her confidence renewed!

  5. Oh my, you’ve sure had your fair share of cancer in you life. My heart goes out to you, your Nana, your close friend, and now your best friend. Bug hug! I think I’d totally rock a wig. Probably a new style and color every day, since everyone knows already it’s not your own hair. Sort of like how Samantha did on Sex and the City with her pink one. Love this post, sweetie. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Shannon 🙂 I try to see all these circumstances as blessings (as odd as that may sound!) Even though I’m young in the big picture of life, I’ve had far too many people pass away, and unexpectedly. When it first started happening, I became jaded and fearful of getting close to people. But now, with years’ experience, I see that these interactions are so good for my heart, and for my friends/loved ones/etc. The moments of pure joy I’ve been able to experience with different lost loved ones before they pass — they are gifts I’ll carry through life 🙂 They’ve made me a better person.

      You’d look great in a wig! When I was perusing the website, I spotted several that I was tempted to order and try, just to shake things up! And Samantha from SATC was such a warrior! Loved her attitude towards cancer. Thanks for the sweet comment 🙂

  6. My heart goes out to you and your friend, Caitlin. Cancer is a nasty, nasty beast and one that has visited my life far too frequently. I know it can be a devastating loss of identity, but I look at women who have lost their hair as they fight cancer as freakin’ rockstars. The wigs, the wraps, the caps… they remind me of superhero capes and serve as a reminder that, while the hair might be gone, a fighter still remains.

    • Thank you so much, Jessica! Cancer is such a terrible, terrible disease. If I could ever get me and cancer alone in a room, I swear I’d kick the sh*t out of it. It just causes so much pain and hurt for people and families. I’m so sorry this disease has hurt you and been prevalent in your life as well.

      I LOVE your thoughts about the wigs/wraps/caps as superhero capes! I’m going to share that with my best friend… that’ll make her smile BIG 🙂

  7. Yet another wonderful post, Caitlin. I identify with some of what you’ve written here in ways that I don’t feel comfortable sharing publicly at this time, and I just wanted to thank you for writing about these issues so beautifully.

  8. I shaved for a cure (fundraiser for leukemia foundation here) and people were shocked I didn’t just trim or colour (you can, according to the rules) – but I used to volunteer in the oncology ward and knew only too well the vulnerability hair loss can bring with it – I didn’t feel like I was doing justice to the courage shown by fighters of this disease….so I went the number one…and I felt very vulnerable because it removed clear gender indicators, it made some people angry (one lady told me it would upset my kids – it didn’t, they loved stroking my stubble lol). When I told the rep from the Leuk. Found. about my feelings and the reactions she said that the loss of hair during treatment was one of the most confrontational things and that it did cause sadness, anger, fear. I think this is beautiful post, thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Charley, what a beautiful thing you did! I have so much respect for you doing that! When my best friend first shaved her head I truly wanted to shave mine as well in support. Unfortunately, my job has ‘dress standards’ and unless you have a medical reason, you can’t shave your head. (Trust me, I was tempted to do it anyways and say to hell with the job!)

      Hair loss has some of the greatest effects on women — the sadness, anger, fear, and loss of self-confidence can be heartbreaking. It makes me happy to see more and more hair alternatives becoming available to people who need it 🙂

  9. Great post. I’m sorry you’ve been touched by cancer so much. My grandma died (mostly likely) of pancreatic cancer, although I say most likely because she was stubborn as heck and refused to do radiation or hospitals or anything like that. Anyway, I’ve donated my hair twice to a company that makes wigs, and I feel really good about doing just something small to help someone who’s had cancer-related hair loss.

    • Thank you, Amanda. It’s a terrible disease that affects way too many people. I hope that cancer research will ‘catch up’ someday, but in the meantime, supporting people through their journey is a great way to ‘give back’. That is so awesome that you’ve donated your hair! I’ve always wanted to do that, but the organization I tried to donate to wouldn’t take it because I color my hair. I’m going to keep looking around though!

  10. Touching post!!
    I hope your friend wins her battle!!!
    I have friends and family battle cancer, some have lost that bottle, and some are still fighting.

  11. What a great post. My sister-in-law is battling stage 4 colon cancer right now. She has not lost all her hair, but it’s thinning. Our hair is something we really take for granted, as a sign of health, beauty, and vitality. This really struck me today, as I read it right after talking with my sister-in-law about her latest scan update…which was not good. 😦

    • Andrea, I’m so sorry to hear about your sister-in-law’s battle. It’s never easy to see a loved one go through this, and it’s difficult to find the right words / actions. Sending lots of warm wishes to you and your family in hopes you all find some comfort and peace during these hard times! Prayers ❤

  12. I’ve had two friends undergo treatment for chemo and they didn’t seem to lose their hair but I didn’t want to ask.. now I think they must have had a wig, thankfully they are made better these days, there’s so much for someone with cancer to deal with and having a wig would certainly be a boost. Prayers for all of our friends who are fighting cancer. xx

    • Wigs have definitely come a long, long way. Even from the time my Nana wore a wig (roughly 10-12 years ago), they have come full circle. It’s wonderful to see this industry working hard to meet the needs of so many women!

      And I second, third, and fourth your sentiments: prayers for all fighting cancer ❤

Time to share a tale of your own...

