My Writing Process: A Blog Tour.

Back when I was first getting my bearings in the WordPress world, an amazing blogger came across my path. Tracie from Life in the Wylde West has been a positive voice on my blog from the first day, always encouraging me and sharing her warmth and kindness.

Whenever I would log in to check my notifications, Tracie’s name would be sitting atop the list with support, love, and sincerity. I can now say that Tracie is more than just a fellow blogger, she is a good friend. Even if the entire United States lies between our states of residence, she is near and dear to my heart! I was honored when she tagged me for the writing process blog tour.

And if you haven’t stopped by Tracie’s yet to appreciate her amazing photography talent, my oh my are you missing out!

blog tour

What am I working on as a writer?
I’m working on developing new ideas for inspiring blog posts. Offline, I’ve been writing a fictional novel. I’ve always dreamed of finishing the novel I started writing back in 2010, and I’m hoping to do just that this year.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I’m not sure what genre my writing is, to be honest. I try to be inspirational, to give a strong voice to help others through situations they haven’t faced before. As far as being a lifestyle blogger, my work differs from others in the genre. I focus less on prompts such as ‘Friday Faves‘ and focus more on writing tales and lessons in life.

Why do I write what I do?
I write to track my journey in life. I love looking back over the years and seeing the different phases and mindsets of life. I also write in hopes of reaching others who feel lost. It’s a big world out there and plenty of situations can leave you scratching your head, saying, “Am I the only one who has gone through this?” I enjoy building communities and offering a place of comfort for anyone who needs it.

How does my writing process look?
My writing process is messy. I tend to be extremely organized in all business pursuits, but when it comes to creative pursuits, I just go with the flow. Whenever I have an idea for a blog post, I jot it down in the closest notebook. After that, I either take pictures to go with the blog post or I search for fitting images from stock-free photography. From there, I let my fingers do the typing and my mind do the imagining. After 3-5 edits (there’s that perfectionist), I publish the post and begin sharing it across social media sites.

For this blog tour, I’m tagging Luanne from The Writer Site. Luanne is one of the first writers I discovered through WordPress. I adore her memoir reviews and writings… she has an amazing talent of painting an image in her readers’ minds!

What does your writing process look like?
What motivates you to write?

23 responses to “My Writing Process: A Blog Tour.

  1. Messy like you. I sometimes wake up at dawn and have one line of rhyme that won’t get out of my head ’til I write. Thus the countless nights I act like an insomniac.

    Everything’s inspiring, don’t you think? I love a quote I read somewhere. It says great writers can just sit and write. I’m trying to achieve that. I focus on a simple object and let my mind (imagination) wander.

    Like you, I go with the flow. But not always. A friend once said, “It’s nice to go with the flow, but don’t forget that water flows to lower places.” I’m not saying he’s wrong or we’re wrong, bit he does have a point; we need proofreading and criticism and feedback.

    Anyway, best of wishes and luck for your novel. 🙂

    • I love those moments when inspiration hits you, even if it’s the middle of the night! Sometimes I wake up in the morning and am surprised by some of the scribbled notes I have bedside from waking up sporadically through the night with ideas.

      Inspiration can be found in everything… life can really be beautiful when you choose to seek out the good 🙂 Thanks for the kind wishes!

  2. That was really well written and what you said about me was so very nice. Plus you introduced me to someone new who visited my site while I was away this weekend;) And since I was away, I missed this, but now it’s been found. I’m always inspired by your writing and I feel as if it’s also filled with such great advice and ideas. I love how I have gotten to know you through your writing and photo project we shared over December with our friend Laura who bound us even closer with heart bowls of kindness. I love this world here. Much love and thank you for telling me about your process and best of luck with your book.

    • Thank you, Tracie! So glad that someone new headed your way… your photography could brighten any day 🙂

      And I couldn’t agree more with you… I love the blogging world + being able to connect with people from all over the world. So many interesting perspectives and experiences out there! XO.

  3. This is great Caitlin! What a wonderful and fitting post as you start wrapping up your time as ‘The Siren’s Tale’. Your blogging style has always been so real and touching. The fact that you stop and think “Am I the only one who has gone through this?” shows so clearly in your writing. There always seems to be a purpose to your posts.
    To the next chapter!
    Jess

  4. I love this! What a fun insight into your process. Thanks for sharing, Caitlin!

  5. I love that you did this! Did I know you were writing a novel? That’s so cool. I’m messy too with my blogging, I’ve found. But I hear you on the 3-5 edits! 🙂

  6. This was such fun to read! Haha, thanks for the tag, Caitlin! Do I have a deadline?!

  7. My writing process is similarly messy – I often think of ideas/sentences/paragraphs/titles out of nowhere when I’m on the go, and end up jotting down bits and bobs in my notebook before later fully developing them.

    What a great insight – thanks for sharing Caitlin!

    • “I often think of ideas/sentences/paragraphs/titles out of nowhere when I’m on the go” – Yes! I think it would be so interesting for someone to do a documentary on the life/mind of bloggers. I feel like sometimes we see/think differently because we’re always looking for inspiration or a topic that can reach many. Thank goodness for endless notebooks filled with inspiration.

  8. What wonderful goals you have for your blog and writing! I hope you do finish your novel, that is such a huge accomplishment, I couldn’t even imagine..
    I love this series of posts and am so glad you were tagged! It’s fascinating to understand how people go through their writing process.

  9. That is so nice! I love blogging friends like that… I’m looking forward to heading on over to Tracie’s blog to say hello!

    This was such an interesting (and great!) post of yours to read. I love hearing about how different bloggers process the way they write, etc. That is so exciting that you’re writing a fictional novel!!

    • Blogging friends are awesome… I’m so thankful for all of you! I also love hearing about people’s writing process. I think sometimes with bloggers we tend to imagine what some things may look like — just like when you read a book and you start to create a ‘vision’ of what the characters are like, what they act like, etc. It’s fun seeing ‘behind the scenes’ 🙂

  10. I appreciate you sharing your process, Caitlin. It’s so helpful to “see” it. I’m a very visual learner, but if I have someone’s candid explanation in words, I can paint the picture I need. This was very helpful to me and the blogger I’m trying to grow myself into. 🙂 Thank you.
    Best,
    Emily Grace

    • Thank you, Emily! I’m also a visual person, so I’ve loved coming across different posts in this ‘writing process’ blog tour. After I posted this, I kept thinking I should have added pictures of my actual process. But it would have just been messy piles of notebooks and random sticky notes everywhere. (Not sure a pretty sight, haha!) Thanks for such a sweet comment!

  11. The experts say messy is preferred for creativity. I hope you do finish that novel! 🙂

  12. Pingback: My Writing Process – a blog tour | Beef and Sweet Tea

Time to share a tale of your own...

